

A World Congres



Edmonton, Canada June 24-28, 2013

Venue

The 15th IFSA World Congress and 32nd Annual Meeting of NAFIPS will be held together in Edmonton, Alberta, one of the most vibrant cities in Canada with a wealth of cultural and tourist attractions. It is a home to the research-intensive University of Alberta, as well as Edmonton Oilers and Wayne Gretzky. It is a gateway to Rocky Mountains and North Canada. Edmonton offers a lot of possibilities to learn more about geographical and cultural variety of western Canada.

Aims and Scope

As a truly unique and international conference in the areas of fuzzy sets and soft computing, 2013 IFSA-NAFIPS Joint Congress will bring together scientists, engineers, students, and practitioners working in fuzzy logic and related areas to present their recent research accomplishments. The Congress offers a unique platform for the exchange of ideas, fostering interaction and building multidisciplinary research linkages.

Topics

The topics cover all aspects of fuzzy systems and their applications including, but not limited to

- · fuzzy sets and fuzzy logic
- mathematical foundations of fuzzy sets and fuzzy systems
- approximate reasoning, fuzzy inference models, and soft computing
- fuzzy decision analysis, decision making, optimization, and design
- fuzzy system architectures and hardware
- fuzzy methods in data analysis, statistics and imprecise probability
- fuzzy databases and information retrieval
- fuzzy pattern recognition and image processing
- fuzzy sets in management science
- fuzzy control and robotics
- possibility theory
- fuzzy sets and logic in ontology, web, and social networks
- fuzzy preference modeling
- · fuzzy sets in operations research and manufacturing
- fuzzy database mining and financial forecasting
- fuzzy neural networks
- evolutionary and hybrid systems
- intelligent agents and ambient intelligence
- learning, adaptive, and evolvable fuzzy systems

Focused Sessions

Proposals for focused sessions concentrating on fundamentals, algorithms, and innovative applications of fuzzy sets and soft computing are welcome. Submission of proposals should include a short description of the session, its relevance to the Joint Congress, and a list of potential contributors. Focused sessions will be open to all participants. Organizers of Focused Sessions will be responsible for a reviewing process.

Focused Session proposals due:

Papers due:

Notification of Acceptance:

Final Papers and Early Registration:

December 23. 2012 January 28, 2013 February 20, 2013

March 21, 2013

Contact: Witold Pedrycz (wpedrycz@ualberta.ca)

Marek Reformat (reformat@ualberta.ca)



www.ifsa2013.org

Faculty of Engineering University of Alberta



A World Congre



Edmonton, Canada June 24-28, 2013

Best Paper Awards

Two awards will be given to authors of outstanding papers, one of them for the best student paper award. To qualify for the competition, a student must be the principal (first) author of the paper and he/she should present the paper. The awardees will be decided based on the manuscript as well as on the presentation.

Chairs

Honorary Chair

Lotfi A. Zadeh (University of California, Berkeley)

General Co-Chairs

Witold Pedrycz (University of Alberta) Marek Z. Reformat (University of Alberta)

Advisory Co-Chairs

Kaoru Hirota (Tokyo Institute of Technology) Ronald R. Yager (Iona College)

Program Co-Chairs

Oscar Castillo (Tijuana Institute of Technology)

Publicity Chair

Janusz Kacprzyk (Polish Academy of Sciences) Petr Musilek (University of Alberta)

Industrial Liaison Chair Focus Session Chair

Aminah Robinson Fayek (University of Alberta)

Scott Dick (University of Alberta)

Program Committee

Giovanni Acampora (Italy) Plamen Angelov (UK) Michael Berthold (Germany) Fernando Bobillo (Spain) Humberto Bustince (Spain) Giovanna Castellano (Italy) Ana Colubi (Spain) Martine deCock (Belgium) Petr Ekel (Brazil) Fernando Gomide (Brazil) Salvatore Greco (Italy) Francisco Herrera (Spain) Wladyslaw Homenda (Poland) Janusz Kacprzyk (Poland) Etienne Kerre (Belgium) Laszlo Koczy (Hungary) Chang-Shing Lee (Taiwan) Chin-Teng Lin (Taiwan) Weldon A. Lodwick (USA) Francesco Marcelloni (Italy) Radko Mesiar (Slovakia) Hung T. Nguyen (USA) Sung-Kwun Oh (Korea) Ketty Peeva (Bulgaria) Henri Prade (France) Aminah Robinson (Canada) Rudi Seising (Spain) Andrzej Skowron (Poland) Mike Smith (USA) Shun-Feng Su (Taiwan) Vicenc Torra (Spain) Lipo Wang (Singapore) Ronald R. Yager (USA) Hao Ying (USA) Slawomir Zadrozny (Poland) Guangquan Zhang (Australia)

Rafik Aliev (Azerbaijan) Andrzej Bargiela (UK) Jim Bezdek (USA) Giovanni Bortolan (Italy) Christer Carlsson (Finland) Oscar Castillo (Mexico) Oscar Cordon (Spain) Antonio Di Nola (Italy) Dimitar Filev (USA) Siegfried Gottwald (Germany) William Gruver (USA) Enrique Herrera-Viedma (Spain) Eyke Hullermeier (Germany) Abe Kandel (USA) S.S. Kim (Korea) Vladik Kreinovich (USA) Jonathan Lee (Taiwan) Xiaodong Liu (China) Jie Lu (Australia) Luis Martinez (Spain) Wojciech Moczulski (Poland) Vesa Niskanen (Finland) Nikhil K. Pal (India) Irina Perfilieva (Czech Republic) Anca Ralescu (USA) Imre Rudas (Hungary) Salvatore Sessa (Italy) Roman Slowinski (Poland) Luciano Stefanini (Italy) Eulalia Szmidt (Poland) I. Burhan Turksen (Turkey) Wei Wang (China) M. Yamada (Japan) Fusheng Yu (China) M.H. Fazel Zarandi (Iran)

Hans J.Zimmermann (Germany)

Barnabas Bede (USA) Isabelle Bloch (France) Tadeusz Burczynski (Poland) Joao Carvalho (Portugal) Wojciech Cholewa (Poland) Bernard deBaets (Belgium) Didier Dubois (France) Takeshi Furuhashi (Japan) Michel Grabisch (France) Larry Hall (USA) Kaoru Hirota (Japan) Hisao Ishibuchi (Japan) Jim Keller (USA) Peter Klement (Austria) Rudolf Kruse (Germany) Yongmin Li (China) Vincenzo Loia (Italy) Luis Magdalena (Spain) Jerry Mendel (USA) Javier Montero (Spain) Vilem Novak (Czech Republic) Sankar R. Pal (India) Emil Petriu (Canada) Dan Ralescu (USA) Alireza Sadeghian (Canada) Shahnaz Shahbazova(Azerbaijan) Tom Sudkamp (USA) Umberto Straccia (Italy) Ricardo Tanscheit (Brazil) Jose Luis Verdegay (Spain) Junzo Watada (Japan) Yiyu Yao (Canada)

Tofigh Allahviranloo (Iran)

