Banner image with photos
Faculty of EngineeringChemical and Materials Engineering Home | Contact Us | Site Map | Search   
Faculty of EngineeringChemical and Materials Engineering


 Print this page

BSc Engineering
The Faculty of Engineering offers undergraduate programmes leading to BSc degrees in Chemical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Computer Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Engineering Physics, Mechanical Engineering, Metallurgical Engineering, Mining Engineering and Petroleum Engineering.

All engineering students follow a common curriculum in their first year and take courses in: Chemistry, Mathematics, Physics, Computing, Engineering Mechanics, and Introduction to the Engineering Profession. In March of the first year, students are asked to make a choice among the various engineering disciplines offered and also between the traditional and cooperative education streams. The disciplines and education streams are described in the following sections.

The second-year programme includes courses such as Mathematics and English which are common to all departments as well as courses specific to the chosen discipline. As the student progresses through the programme the courses taken become more specialized. Also, exposure to basic business concepts is an important aspect of an engineering education. Programmes for all disciplines include courses in engineering economics and several engineering management and business electives are available.

Enrollment in each of the Engineering programmes is limited.

Cooperative Education Programme
The Faculty of Engineering offers two types of degree programmes: the traditional programme and the cooperative education programme. Students in the traditional programme attend classes from September to April over a four-year period (eight academic terms) to obtain their degree. In the cooperative education programme, students complement their academic studies with five four-month work terms of paid work experience. The academic requirements for both programmes are identical. Because of the work experience component, co-op students complete the last six academic terms over a four-year period so a degree with the Cooperative Programme designation requires five years.

The cooperative education programme is offered in all engineering programmes with the exception of Engineering Physics. All programmes include one fall work term (September to December), one winter work term (January to April) and three summer work terms (May to August). The sequence of academic and work terms for each may be found by following the link for that discipline from the curriculum page. Because of the year round nature of the cooperative programme, co-op students are considered to be full-time students of the University of Alberta for the full 12 months of any academic year (July 1 - June 30).

Students accepted into the cooperative education programme must successfully complete the following six courses in addition to the regular requirements for an engineering degree within their specialization: ENGG 299, WKEXP 901, WKEXP 902, WKEXP 903, WKEXP 904, and WKEXP 905.

Since work experience is a programme requirement, the Engineering Co-op Centre within the Faculty of Engineering assists students in finding suitable engineering-related employment. Most of the jobs are within Alberta but some jobs are located elsewhere in Canada or even overseas. The ultimate responsibility for obtaining work-term employment rests with the student. Co-op students pay a modest administrative fee for each work term. Visa students (student visitors) are not eligible for the cooperative education programme.


  • Technical Electives - Chemical
  • Technical Electives - Materials
  • Technical Electives offered in Chemical Engineering 2004-5
  • Specialization via Technical Electives - Ch E


  • Home > Undergraduate  
    University of Alberta logo