Alberta Cognitive Neuroscience

Overview

Members

Courses & Groups

Facilities

News &
Opportunities


Contact
© 2013
Members
Dr. Deryk S. Beal
Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine
Assistant Professor
dbeal@ualberta.ca
Selected Publications
Website
Research Interests: Genetic and neural contributions to the development of speech motor control and its related disorders; structural and functional neuroimaging.
Dr. Christian Beaulieu
Department of Biomedical Engineering (Medicine)
Professor
christian.beaulieu@ualberta.ca
Selected Publications
Website
Research Interests: Quantitative magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) of the brain with aging and links to
(dis)ability.
Dr. Richard Camicioli
Division of Neurology (Medicine)
Professor
richard.camicioli@ualberta.ca
Selected Publications
Website
Research Interests: Cognitive and motor decline in normal aging and neurological disorders (e.g., Parkinson's disease).
Dr. Jeremy B. Caplan
Department of Psychology (Science)
Associate Professor
jcaplan@ualberta.ca
Selected Publications
Website
Research Interests: Computational cognitive modeling and cognitive neuroscience of human memory.
Dr. Jacqueline Cummine
Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine
Assistant Professor
jacqueline.cummine@ualberta.ca
Selected Publications
Website
Research Interests: Integration of behavioural, functional and structural neuroimaging measures to advance models of basic language processes.
Dr. Roger A. Dixon
Department of Psychology (Science)
Canada Research Chair
rdixon@ualberta.ca
Selected Publications
Website
Research Interests: Longitudinal studies of cognitive aging, including functional, genomic, metabolomic, and neural markers of impairment and Alzheimer's disease.
Dr. Florin Dolcos
Adjunct Assistant Professor (Neuroscience, Alberta)
Assistant Professor (Psychology, Illinois)
fdolcos@ualberta.ca
Selected Publications
Website
Research Interests: Neural correlates of affective-cognitive interactions in healthy and clinical populations.
Dr. Esther Fujiwara
Department of Psychiatry (Medicine)
Assistant Professor
efujiwara@ualberta.ca
Selected Publications
Website
Research Interests: Normal and disturbed cognitive and emotional functions.
Dr. Esther Kim
Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine
Assistant Professor
esther.kim@ualberta.ca
Selected Publications
Website
Research Interests: Nature and treatment of written language disorders in aphasia; cognitive and linguistic aspects of communication in normal aging and aphasia.
Dr. Ada Leung
Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine
Assistant Professor
ada.leung@ualberta.ca
Selected Publications
Website
Research Interests: Scientific basis of cognitive rehabilitation; neural basis of auditory working memory; working memory training for improving functional abilities.
Dr. Nikolai Malykhin
Department of Biomedical Engineering (Medicine)
Assistant Professor
nikolai.malykhin@ualberta.ca
Selected Publications
Website
Research Interests: Computational neuroanatomy, hippocampal neuroplasticity and neurogenesis in neuropsychiatric disorders, aging brain.
Dr. W.R. Wayne Martin
Division of Neurology (Medicine)
Professor
wayne.martin@ualberta.ca
Selected Publications
Website
Research Interests: Neurodegenerative disease,
movement disorders, structural and functional neuroimaging.
Dr. Anthony Singhal
Department of Psychology (Science)
Associate Professor
asinghal@ualberta.ca
Selected Publications
Website
Research Interests: Psychophysiology and functional neuroimaging of attention, memory, and visuomotor control.
Dr. Christopher Westbury
Department of Psychology (Science)
Assistant Professor
chrisw@ualberta.ca
Selected Publications
Website
Research Interests: Language processing, neurolinguistics, aphasia diagnosis and classification.
Dr. Sandra A. Wiebe
Department of Psychology (Arts)
Assistant Professor
sandra.wiebe@ualberta.ca
Selected Publications
Website
Research Interests: The early development of executive control, emotion regulation, and their neural substrates in typically developing and at-risk populations.
 
Affiliates
Dr. Ekaterina Denkova
Department of Psychiatry (Medicine)
Postdoctoral Fellow
ninova@ualberta.ca
Selected Publications
Research Interests: Neural correlates of emotional autobiographical memories.
Dr. Clayton Dickson Dr. Clayton T. Dickson
Psychology (Science) and Physiology (Medicine)
Professor
clayton.dickson@ualberta.ca
Selected Publications
Website
Research Interests: Oscillatory ensemble dynamics in the nervous system and their contribution to neural processing and cognition.
Dr. Takahiko Masuda Dr. Takahiko Masuda
Department of Psychology (Arts)
Assistant Professor
tmasuda@ualberta.ca
Selected Publications
Website
Research Interests: Cultural variations in cognition, emotion, motivation, language acquisition; social neuroscience.
Dr. Hannah Pazderka Dr. Hannah Pazderka
CASA Child, Adolescent and Family Mental Health
Director of Research
hpazderka@casaservices.org
Selected Publications
Research Interests: Affective regulation of impulsive behavior; executive control of risk-taking; reward and motivation; theory of mind and reflective functioning.