Current Graduate Students, Post Doctoral Fellows and Research Assistants

 

 

Current LRIGS graduate students and post doctoral fellows can access their program requirements checklist, terms of reference documents, travel and expense documents, LRIGS logos and mentorship program documents at the LRIGS Google site.

 

2016 Cohort

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Autumn Watkinson (PhD Student). Restoration of native sagebrush grassland to increase greater sage grouse populations in Grasslands National Park in Saskatchewan, Canada. autumnly@ualberta.ca

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jocelyn Gregoire (MSc Student). Influence of vegetative recovery of reclaimed well pads on the use or avoidance of edge habitat by Canada warblers. jgregoir@ualberta.ca

 

2015 Cohort

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Muhammad Arshad (Post Doctoral Fellow). Development of biopolymers for de-watering and consolidation of oil sands tailings. arshad4@ualberta.ca

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jinhyeob Kwak (Post Doctoral Fellow). Effects of ten years of nitrogen and sulfur depositions on soil properties, growth and chemical properties of trees, and understory species diversity. jinhyeob@ualberta.ca

Federico Riva

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Federico Riva (PhD Student). Assessing effects of forest fragmentation and reclamation/restoration responses using butterflies. friva@ualberta.ca

 

Karen Christensen-Dalsgaard

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Karen Christensen-Dalsgaard (MSc Student). Bioremediation of eutrophic lakes through food-web manipulation. kkchrist@ualberta.ca

Kate Melnik

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Kate Melnik (MSc Student). Creating topographic variability for understory species establishment on reclaimed sites. kmelnik@ualberta.ca

 

Gillian-Mullan Boudreau

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Gillian Mullan-Boudreau (MSc Student). Assessing dust deposition for industrial development and reclamation of bituminous sands. mullanbo@ualberta.ca

Prem Pokharel

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Prem Pokharel (MSc Student). Growth of nutrient loaded seedlings of aspen, white spruce and jack pine in oil sands reclamation in northern Alberta. ppokhare@ualberta.ca

 

Qi Wang

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Qi Wang (MSc Student). Effects of long term nitrogen and sulfur depositions on leaf litter decomposition in a boreal mixedwood forest in northern Alberta. qwang6@ualberta.ca

Yihan Zhao

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yihan Zhao (MSc Student). Vegetation response to hydrogen fluoride from phosphogypsum operations. yihan5@ualberta.ca

 

 

 

 

2014 Cohort

Sebastian Dietrich

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sebastian Dietrich (PhD Student). Use of spatial pattern analysis of soil-plant relations to determine land reclamation success. sdietric@ualberta.ca

 

Nilusha Welegedara

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Nilusha Welegedara (PhD Student). Modelling carbon, water and nitrogen cycling and salt redistribution in reclaimed landscapes using ecosys. yalingas@ualberta.ca

Mark Donner

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mark Donner (MSc Student). Assessment of arsenic and selenium in ground and surface water of the Lower Athabasca River Watershed. mdonner@ualberta.ca

 

Stephanie Ibsen

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Stephanie Ibsen (MSc Student). Effects of long term nitrogen and sulfur depositions on soil properties, soil microbial biomass composition, greenhouse gas emissions and soil nitrogen saturation in the Athabasca oil sands. sibsen@ualberta.ca

Scott Wilson

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Scott Wilson (MSc Student). Monitoring bird use of reclaimed wellpad sites at different vegetation recovery stages. sjw@ualberta.ca

 

 

 

2013 Cohort

Alison Murata

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Alison Murata (PhD Student). Assessment and remediation of soils and ground water contaminated with chlorinated organic compounds and salts. amurata@ualberta.ca

 

 

 

2012 Cohort

Victoria Collins

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Victoria Collins (PhD Student). Methane production and hydrocarbon degradation under nutrient limiting conditions in tailings ponds and potential for contaminant release in end-pit lakes. This student's research is partially funded by the Helmholtz-Alberta Initiative (HAI). ccollins@ualberta.ca

 

Sarah Ficko

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sarah Ficko (PhD Student). Shrub and lichen revegetation for diamond mine reclamation. This student's research is partially funded by the Helmholtz-Alberta Initiative (HAI). ficko@ualberta.ca

Valerie Miller

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Valerie Miller (PhD Student). Anthroposol development for diamond mine reclamation. This student's research is partially funded by the Helmholtz-Alberta Initiative (HAI). vsmiller@ualberta.ca

 

 

 

 

Come join us. Help make a positive impact on the world we share.