Current Graduate Students, Post Doctoral Fellows and Research Assistants

 

 

Current LRIGS graduate students and post doctoral fellows can access their program requirements checklist, travel and expense documents, and mentorship program documents at the LRIGS Google site.

 

2014 Cohort

Jeff Kelly

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jeff Kelly (Post Doctoral Fellow). Development of high quality seedling stock for reclamation and restoration. jwkelly@ualberta.ca

 

Sebastian Dietrich

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sebastian Dietrich (PhD Student). Use of spatial pattern analysis of soil-plant relations to determine land reclamation success. sdietric@ualberta.ca

Nilusha Welegedara

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Nilusha Welegedara (PhD Student). Modelling of carbon, water and nitrogen cycling and salt redistribution in reclaimed landscapes using a detailed ecosystem model (ecosys) to evaluate nutrient cycling and effect of salinity on ecosystem productivity . yalingas@ualberta.ca

 

Jaime Aguilar

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jaime Aguilar (MSc Student). Use of amendments to develop anthroposols for land reclamation. This student's research is partially funded by the Helmholtz-Alberta Initiative (HAI). aguilarr@ualberta.ca

 

Elizabeth Domreis

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Elizabeth Domreis (MSc Student). Characterization and mapping of metabolic and genetic pathways in syntrophic methanogenic biodegradation of hydrocarbons in oil sands tailings. This student's research is partially funded by the Helmholtz-Alberta Initiative (HAI). domreis@ualberta.ca

 

Mark Donner

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mark Donner (MSc Student). Assessment of arsenic and selenium in ground and surface water of the Lower Athabasca River Watershed. mdonner@ualberta.ca

Stephanie Ibsen

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Stephanie Ibsen (MSc Student). Examining the effects of long term nitrogen and sulfur depositions on soil properties, soil microbial biomass composition, greenhouse gas emissions and soil nitrogen saturation in the oil sands region in northern Alberta. sibsen@ualberta.ca

 

Jasmine Lamarre

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jasmine Lamarre (MSc Student). Moss revegetation for northern environments. This student's research is partially funded by the Helmholtz-Alberta Initiative (HAI). jlamarre@ualberta.ca

Caitlin Low

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Caitlin Low (MSc Student). Impacts of pipeline right of ways on native prairie plant communities. This student's research is partially funded by the Helmholtz-Alberta Initiative (HAI). chlow@ualberta.ca

 

Scott Wilson

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Scott Wilson (MSc Student). Monitoring bird use of reclaimed wellpad sites at different vegetation recovery stages. sjw@ualberta.ca

 

 

2013 Cohort

Alison Murata

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Alison Murata (PhD Student). Assessment and remediation of soils and ground water contaminated with chlorinated organic compounds and salts. This student's research is partially funded by the Helmholtz-Alberta Initiative (HAI). amurata@ualberta.ca

 

Jenna Abou Rizk

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jenna Abou Rizk (MSc Student). Use of phosphogypsum as a substrate component for land reclamation. This student's research is partially funded by the Helmholtz-Alberta Initiative (HAI). jabouriz@ualberta.ca

Alison Bijman

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Alison Bijman (MSc Student). Effects of biochar, fertilizer and deadwood shelter treatments on establishment of herbaceous vegetation during coal mine reclamation. This student's research is partially funded by the Helmholtz-Alberta Initiative (HAI). bijman@ualberta.ca

 

Kangyi Lou

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Kangyi Lou (MSc Student). Effectiveness of biochar applications in removing organic and inorganic contaminants in oil sands processed-affected water.. This student's research is partially funded by the Helmholtz-Alberta Initiative (HAI). kangyi@ualberta.ca

 

 

2012 Cohort

Victoria Collins

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Victoria Collins (PhD Student). Methane production and hydrocarbon degradation under nutrient limiting conditions in tailings ponds, and the potential for contaminant release in end-pit lakes. This student's research is partially funded by the Helmholtz-Alberta Initiative (HAI). ccollins@ualberta.ca

 

Sarah Ficko

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sarah Ficko (PhD Student). Shrub and lichen revegetation for diamond mine reclamation. This student's research is partially funded by the Helmholtz-Alberta Initiative (HAI). ficko@ualberta.ca

Valerie Miller

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Valerie Miller (PhD Student). Anthroposol development for diamond mine reclamation. This student's research is partially funded by the Helmholtz-Alberta Initiative (HAI). vsmiller@ualberta.ca

 

 

 

 

Come join us. Help make a positive impact on the world we share.