UAlberta Facts

Uplifting the Whole People

The University of Alberta has had the vision to be one of the world’s great universities for the public good since its inception. This university is dedicated to the promise made by founding president Henry Marshall Tory that “… knowledge shall not be the concern of scholars alone. The uplifting of the whole people shall be its final goal.”

This vision endures as the university strives to improve the lives of people in Alberta, across Canada, and around the world.


The university motto, quaecumque vera, means “whatsoever things are true” and is taken from the Epistle of St. Paul to the Philippians, Chapter 4, Verse 8, in the Latin Vulgate version of the Bible.


Within a vibrant and supportive learning environment, the University of Alberta discovers, disseminates, and applies new knowledge through teaching and learning, research and creative activity, community involvement, and partnerships. The U of A gives a national and international voice to innovation in our province, taking a lead role in placing Canada at the global forefront.


To inspire the human spirit through outstanding achievements in learning, discovery, and citizenship in a creative community, building one of the world’s great universities for the public good.

Aboriginal Acknowledgement

The University of Alberta acknowledges the traditional territory on which we stand and thanks the diverse Indigenous peoples whose footsteps have marked this territory for centuries, such as Cree, Saulteaux, Blackfoot, Métis and Nakota Sioux.


President and Vice-Chancellor: David Turpin
Provost and Vice-President (Academic): Steven Dew
Vice-President (Research): Walter Dixon
Vice-President (Finance & Administration): Gitta Kulczycki
Vice-President (Facilities & Operations): Andrew Sharman
Vice-President (University Relations): Jacqui Tam
Vice-President (Advancement): Kelly Spencer


The University of Alberta is a board-governed public institution whose board members include representatives of the public, staff, faculty, and students, including representatives of the Students’ Union and the Graduate Students’ Association.

Board of Governors' Chair: Michael Phair


The senate is an independent advisory body of community leaders that plays a critical role in linking with the community and enhancing the reputation of the university. The senate also selects honorary degree recipients.

Senate Chair and Chancellor: Douglas Stollery