Agricultural, Food & Nutritional Science

Our People

Department Chair

Dr. Ruurd Zijlstra
4-10N Agriculture/Forestry Centre
Phone: (780) 492-2131
Email: afns-chair@ualberta.ca

Executive Assistant to the Chair and Office Coordinator

Holly Horvath
4-10 Agriculture/Forestry Centre
Phone: (780) 492-2131
Email: holly.horvath@ualberta.ca

Assistant Chair (Administration)     

Dr. François Paradis
4-10L Agriculture/Forestry Centre
Phone: (780) 248-1307
Email: fparadis@ualberta.ca


Graduate Programs

Associate Chair

Vera Mazurak (until Dec 31 2017)
4-002G Li Ka Shing Centre
Phone: (780) 492-8048
Email: Vera.Mazurak@ualberta.ca

Stephen Strelkov (January-June 2018)
4-16E Agriculture/Forestry Centre
Phone: (780) 492-1969
Email: Stephen.Strelkov@ualberta.ca

Vice-Associate Chair 

Stephen Strelkov (until Dec 31 2017)
4-16E Agriculture/Forestry Centre
Phone: (780) 492-1969
Email: Stephen.Strelkov@ualberta.ca

Ben Willing (January-June 2018)
3-10D Agriculture/Forestry Centre
Phone: (780) 492-8908
Email: Willing@ualberta.ca


Research

Division Directors

Animal Science
Michael Dyck

3-10A Agriculture/Forestry Centre
Phone: (780) 492-0047
Email: mkdyck@ualberta.ca 

Food Science & Bioresource Technology
Mirko Betti
3-10C Agriculture/Forestry Centre
Phone (780) 248-1598
Email: mbetti@ualberta.ca

Human Nutrition
Spencer Proctor
4-002J Li Ka Shing Centre
Phone: (780) 492-4672
Email: spencer.proctor@ualberta.ca

Plant Biosystems
Jocelyn Ozga
4-10D Agriculture/Forestry Centre
Phone: (780) 492-2653
Email: jocelyn.ozga@ualberta.ca

Chris Kazala
Research Development Coordinator
4-10B Agriculture/Forestry Centre
Phone: (780) 492-6731
Email: ekazala@ualberta.ca

Urmila Basu
Laboratory Manager
4-32A Agriculture/Forestry Centre
Phone: (780) 492-8712
Email: urmila.basu@ualberta.ca

Barry Irving
APO/Manager Research Stations
1-06B Agriculture/Forestry Centre
Phone: (780) 492-6117
Email: barry.irving@ualberta.ca