For Faculty and Staff

Faculty Committees and Governance

Academic Coordinating Committee (ACC)   Terms of Reference
Program Advising Committees (PAC)   Terms of Reference


GFC - ALES Representation

General Faculties Council is established as one of the two governing authorities of the University of Alberta under Section 33(1) of the Post-Secondary Learning Act (PSLA). GFC's powers and composition are set out in Sections 22, 23, 24, 25 and 26 of the Act. For more information, please visit the University of Alberta's GFC website.

The Faculty of ALES currently occupies three (3) seats on GFC consisting of full-time faculty members elected within the faculty. Each representative serves for a three-year term, ending June 30. An election process within the Faculty of Science takes place prior to the completion of each representative's term to ensure full representation effective July 1.


Current ALES Representatives are:

  • Brent Swallow, Professor, Dept of REES (until June 30, 2019)
  • Lynn McMullen, Dept of AFNS (until June 30, 2020)
  • Nadir Erbilgin, Dept of RENR (until June 30, 2020)