Quick Facts and our History


Embracing the modern era

2007 – Faculty changes its name to the Faculty of Agricultural, Life & Environmental Sciences.

2008 – Faculty purchases 800 acres for a fraction of its market value from the Bocock family, who ran dairy farm on the land. The St. Albert Research Station will have agricultural and environmental research conducted on it.

2010 – Faculty receives a 12,000-acre ranch in SW Alberta from Edwin and Ruth Mattheis. The donation paves the way for the creation of the Rangeland Research Institute.

2011 – The Department of Rural Economy changes its name again to the Department of Resource Economics and Environmental Sociology (REES)

2015 – The Faculty celebrates its Centennial.

Today, the Faculty has 1,650 undergraduate students and 500 graduate students.

The Faculty of composed of four departments:

  • Agricultural, Food and Nutritional Science
  • Human Ecology
  • Renewable Resources
  • Resource Economics and Environmental Sociology and the Devonian Botanic Garden.