Patient Safety & Quality

The Sub-Committee on Patient Safety and Quality is established to provide a forum for discussing and developing action plans and providing recommendations to the Edmonton Zone Anesthesiology Executive, AHS, the University of Alberta, and other stakeholders.

Some of the priorities we are working on are: Medication Safety; Safety in the Anesthesia Work Space; Pre-operative Preparation of Patients; and Learning from Event Reporting.

Committee Members


Membership Type


Dr Timur Özelsel Full Member Committee Chair
Dr Richard Bergstrom Full Member Anesthesiologist/Maz
Heather Clark Full Member Administrative Assistant
Dr Kathryne Faccenda Full Member Anesthesiologist/UAH
Ashley Kuehn Full Member Respiratory Therapy, Anes Tech/RAH
Dr Craig Needham Full Member Anesthesiologist/GNH
Warren Sheen Full Member Respiratory Therapy, Anes Tech/GNH
Jeanine Auch Corresponding Member Biomed/Leduc & Fort.Sask.
Rod Fernandez Corresponding Member Biomed
Mark Rimkus Corresponding Member Respiratory Therapy
Julia Roy Corresponding Member Edmonton Patient Safety
Tara Walsh Corresponding Member Clinical Quality Metrics
Lisa Zoeteman Corresponding Member Medication Management