Arts Working Group for Indigenous Initiatives

The Faculty of Arts has created the Arts Working Group for Indigenous Initiatives (AWGII) in light of the continuing responsibilities as well as benefits that flow from our presence on a traditional gathering place for diverse Indigenous peoples including the Cree, Blackfoot, Métis, Nakota Sioux, Iroquois, Dene, Ojibway/Saulteaux/Anishinaabe, Inuit, and many others. This is part of our commitment to participating in respectful relations amongst all peoples and is a reply to the 94 Calls to Action detailed in the Final Report of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada.

The committee members of AWGII are listed below. Kisha Supernant and Marie Carrière are co-chairs of this committee and will be happy to answer any of your questions related to AWGII and the work they will be doing throughout the Faculty of Arts. Inquiries can be directed to

Marie Carrière, Associate Dean (Research)
Kisha Supernant, Faculty

Community members:
Elder Bert Auger
Elder Gilman Cardinal

Jacqueline Bellerose, Indigenous Student Engagement & Recruitment Specialist
Tanya Harnett, Faculty
Jordan Lachler, Faculty
Rissa Reist, Graduate student
Rehana Bennett, Faculty Services Manager
Kenneth Williams, Faculty
Benjamin Kucher, Undergraduate student
Sarah Nickel, Faculty
Lana Whiskeyjack, Faculty