A Celebration of Excellence in the Faculty of Arts

Arts staff and faculty gathered to celebrate teaching, research and staff excellence at the annual Arts Awards Night

Melissa Boisvert - 13 May 2016

Sixty Arts faculty, staff and students were recognized for their achievements at Thursday's Celebration of Excellence in the Faculty of Arts at the UAlberta Faculty Club.

Family, friends and colleagues joined the award winners at a dinner and celebration, emceed by Arts alumna Carolyn Campbell ('04 MFA), General Manager and Chief of Communications and Public Engagement for the City of Edmonton.

Congratulations to all of our award winners!


Roger S. Smith Undergraduate Researcher Award
Cher-Ann Chai, Sociology
Gavin Doyle, English & Film Studies
Brad Fehr, Art & Design
Sarah Giesbrecht, Linguistics
Jessica Gillespie, Art & Design
Liuba González de Armas, Art & Design/Psychology
Mitchell Hughes, Economics
Callum MacDonald, History & Classics
Meagan Miller, Modern Languages & Cultural Studies
Natasha Pigford, Sociology
Bart Romanek, Modern Languages & Cultural Studies/History & Classics
Sarah Rose, English & Film Studies
Emily Tran, History & Classics
Nathan Vandermolen-Pater, Linguistics
Daniel Walker, Art & Design

Cécile E. Mactaggart Travel Award for Narrative Writing
Tomas Andel, English & Film Studies
Rebecca Fredrickson, English & Film Studies

Outstanding Staff Award
Helen Baggaley, Drama
Fred Boyko, Psychology
Nancy Evans, Sociology

Outstanding Student Service Award
Eva Glancy, Modern Languages & Cultural Studies

Outstanding Lead Administrator Award
Joanne McKinnon, East Asian Studies/Linguistics/Philosophy/Women's & Gender Studies

Graduate Student Teaching Award
Laura Aylsworth, Sociology
Neale Barnholden, English & Film Studies
Nicole Brandsma, English & Film Studies
Jeffrey Brassard, Sociology
Jason Breiter, English & Film Studies
Kathryn Chaffee, Psychology
James Farley, Psychology
Hansy Herrera, Modern Languages & Cultural Studies
Ying Huang, East Asian Studies
Amir Khadem, Modern Languages & Cultural Studies
Luke McNulty, Philosophy
Svitlana Panenko, Modern Languages & Cultural Studies
Chaslee Schweitzer, Drama
Michael Sharp, Psychology

Contract Instructor Teaching Award
Ashley Esarey, Political Science
Lorne Priemaza, Economics
Lucinda Rasmussen, English & Film Studies

Undergraduate Teaching Award (Early Achievement)
Jordan Lachler, Linguistics
Natalie Van Deusen, Modern Languages & Cultural Studies

Undergraduate Teaching Award
Odile Cisneros, Modern Languages & Cultural Studies
Liz Czach, English & Film Studies
Marie-Eve Morin, Philosophy

Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching and Mentorship
Stephen Slemon, English & Film Studies

Research Excellence Award

Sandra Bucerius, Assistant Professor, Sociology
Robert Smith, Professor, History & Classics
Helen Vallianatos, Associate Professor, Anthropology


Izaak Walton Killam Memorial Scholarship
and Andrew Stewart Memorial Graduate Prize

Joshua St. Pierre, Philosophy

Provost's Award for Early Achievement of Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching
Kisha Supernant, Anthropology

William Hardy Alexander Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching
Marie Nychka, Drama

J. Gordin Kaplan Award for Excellence in Research
Imre Szeman, English & Film Studies

Killam Professorship
John Considine, English & Film Studies

McCalla Professorship
Wendy Hoglund, Psychology

University Cup

Harvey Krahn, Sociology


Banting Postdoctoral Fellowship

Lynn Badia, English & Film Studies

Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship
Margot Challborn, Political Science
Alexandra Duncan, Art & Design

The Royal Society of Canada: College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists
Keavy Martin, English & Film Studies

Canadian Centre for Diversity and Inclusion: HSBC Community Contributor of the Year
Malinda S. Smith, Political Science