Graduate Programs

Graduate Program Department Contacts

In general, contact the Associate Chair (Graduate) with questions of an academic nature. Graduate administrators are your first point of contact for technical questions about your program.

Department of Anthropology

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. Andie Palmer
Email: anthgrad@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.9481

 

Graduate Administrator: Heather Cook
Email: anthgrad@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.2329

Department of Art & Design 

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. Lianne McTavish
Email: lmctavis@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.3016

 

Graduate Administrator: Dawn McLean
Email: dawn.mclean@ualberta.ca 
Phone: 780.492-7866 

Comparative Literature Program

Please see MLCS below.

Department of Drama 

Graduate Coordinator: Dr. Lee Livingstone
 Email:  llivings@ualberta.ca 
Phone: 780.492.8726

 

Graduate Administrator: Twilla MacLeod
Email: tjmacleo@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.2274

Department of East Asian Studies 

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. Daniel Fried
Email: dfried@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.1097

 

Graduate Administrator: Gail Mathew
Email: gail.mathew@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.248.1256

Department of Economics 

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. Todd Smith
Email: smithrt@ualberta.ca  
Phone: 780.492.7898

 

Graduate Administrator: Christina Smith
Email: econgrad@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.7634 

Department of English & Film Studies 

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. Julie Rak
Email: efsgrad@ualberta.ca

 

Graduate Administrator: Kim Brown
Email: kim.brown@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.4701

Department of History & Classics 

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. Margriet Haagsma
Email: hcgrad@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.2985

 

Graduate Administrator: Lydia Dugbazah
Email: lydia.dugbazah@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.2698

Humanities Computing Program

Graduate Coordinator: Dr. Maureen Engel
Email: mengel@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.0106

 

Graduate Administrator: Barb Heagle
Email: barb.heagle@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.2174

Department of Linguistics

Graduate Coordinator: Dr. David Beck
Email: david.beck@ualberta.ca
Phone:780.492.0807

 

Graduate Administrator: Gail Mathew
Email: gail.mathew@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.248.1256

Department of Modern Languages & Cultural Studies 

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. Carrie Smith-Prei
Email: carrie.smith-prei@ualberta.ca

 

Graduate Administrator: Eva Glancy
Email: glancy@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.3273

Department of Music 

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. Christina Gier 
Email: cgier@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.4015  

Graduate Administrator: Kimberly Arndt
Email: kimberly.arndt@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.0603

Department of Philosophy

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. Ingo Brigandt
Email: ingo.brigandt@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.9030

 

Graduate Administrator: Gail Mathew
Email: gail.mathew@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.2368

Department of Political Science 

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. Cressida Heyes
Email: cheyes@ualberta.ca
Phone:780.492.0535

 
Graduate Administrator: Caroline Kinyua
Email: caroline.kinyua@ualberta.ca  
Phone: 780.492.4771

Department of Psychology 

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. Anthony Singhal
Email: asinghal@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.7843

 

Graduate Administrator: Anita Mueller
Email: psygrad@ualberta.ca 
Phone: 780.492-0969

Religious Studies Program

Graduate Coordinator: Dr. Ryan Dunch
Email: rdunch@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.6484

 

Graduate Administrator: Barb Heagle
Email: barb.heagle@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.2174

Department of Sociology

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. Amy Kaler
Email: socgrdch@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.0474

Graduate Administrator: Nancy Evans
Email: nancy.evans@ualberta.ca 
Phone: 780.492.5236

Department of Women's and Gender Studies

Graduate Coordinator: Dr. Michelle Meagher
Email: michelle.meagher@ualberta.ca 
Phone: 780.492.0593

Graduate Administrator: Gail Mathew
Email: gail.mathew@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.2368