Graduate Programs

Graduate Program Department Contacts

In general, contact the Associate Chair (Graduate) with questions of an academic nature. Graduate administrators are your first point of contact for technical questions about your program.

Department of Anthropology

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. Marko Zivonic
Email: marko.zivonic@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.5352

Graduate Administrator: Heather Cook
Email: anthgrad@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.2329

Department of Art & Design 

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. Lisa Claypool
Email: lisa.claypool@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.3016

Graduate Administrator: Dawn Hunter
Email: dawn.hunter@ualberta.ca 
Phone: 780.492-7866 

Comparative Literature Program

Please see MLCS below.

Department of Drama 

Graduate Coordinator: Dr.Piet Defraeye
 Email:  defraeye@ualberta.ca 
Phone: 780.492.1067

Graduate Administrator: Elizabeth Ludwig
Email:eludwig@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.2274

Department of East Asian Studies 

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. Yoshi Ono
Email: tsuyoshi.ono@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.1126

Graduate Administrator: Andrea Hayes
Email: andrea.hayes@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.3273

Department of Economics 

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. Heather Eckert
Email: heather.eckert@ualberta.ca  
Phone: 780.492.7898

Graduate Administrator: Christina Smith
Email: econgrad@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.7634 

Department of English & Film Studies 

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. Mark Simpson
Email: efsgrad@ualberta.ca

Graduate Administrator: Kim Brown
Email: kim.brown@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.4701

Department of History & Classics 

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr.Adam Kemezis
Email: hcgrad@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.2588

Graduate Administrator: Lydia Dugbazah
Email: lydia.dugbazah@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.2698

Digital Humanities Program

Graduate Coordinator: Dr. Jonathan Cohn
Email: cohn@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.0106

Graduate Administrator: Nicola DiNicola
Email: dinicola@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.4802

Department of Linguistics

Graduate Coordinator: Dr. Johanne Paradis
Email: johanne.paradis@ualberta.ca
Phone:780.492.0807

Graduate Administrator: Gail Mathew
Email: gail.mathew@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.248.1256

Department of Modern Languages & Cultural Studies 

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. Micah True
Email: micah.true@ualberta.ca

Graduate Administrator: Andrea Hayes
Email: andrea.hayes@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.3273

Department of Music 

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. Maryam Moshaver
Email: maryam.moshaver@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.4099  

Graduate Administrator: Kimberly Arndt
Email: kimberly.arndt@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.0603

Department of Philosophy

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. Jennifer Welchman
Email: jennifer.welchman@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.9030

Graduate Administrator: Gail Mathew
Email: gail.mathew@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.2368

Department of Political Science 

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. Siobhan Byrne
Email: psgrdchr@ualberta.ca
Phone:780.492.2206

Graduate Administrator: Caroline Kinyua
Email: caroline.kinyua@ualberta.ca  
Phone: 780.492.4771

Department of Psychology 

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. Chris Westbury
Email: chrisw@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.5275

Graduate Administrator: Cat Walsh
Email: psygrad@ualberta.ca 
Phone: 780.492-0969

Religious Studies Program

Graduate Coordinator: Dr. Jocelyn Hendrickson
Email: jnhendri@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.4772

Graduate Administrator: Nicola DiNicola
Email: dinicola@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.4802

Department of Sociology

Associate Chair (Graduate): Dr. Amy Kaler
Email: socgrdch@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.0474

Graduate Administrator: Patti Kim
Email: socgrad2@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.5236

Department of Women's and Gender Studies

Graduate Coordinator: Dr. Felice Lifshitz
Email: felice.lifschitz@ualberta.ca 
Phone: 780.492.7581

Graduate Administrator: Gail Mathew
Email: gail.mathew@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780.492.2368