November 24, 2019 at 3:00 p.m.
Convocation Hall

Hosted by the Music Students' Association, Musaics aims to bring students from all over the Department of Music together to create a mosaic of music. Various genres, instruments and groups will come together to create a delightful show in a supportive environment with all proceeds being donated back to the Department of Music to help fund the renovation of Convocation Hall.

  • 1. Program
    Sevilla (1885)
    Isaac Albéniz (1860-1909)

    Kayleigh Francis, tenor saxophone
    Eugene Lee, baritone saxophone
    Dani McAfee, alto saxophone
    Melodie Peet, soprano saxophone

    Prelude in G (2017)
    Jienan Chen (b. 2001)

    Suite of Songs: To the memory of Percy Aldridge Grainger (2017)
    Pu Tong (1877-1950), Li Jinhui (1891-1967)
    Arranged by Jienan Chen (b. 2001)

    Jienan Chen, piano

    Aria (1936)
    Eugene Bozza (1905 - 1991)

    Kyrstin Ruecker, saxophone
    Spencer Kryzanowski, piano

    Kurdish Dance 2 (2019)
    Morteza Abedinifard (b. 1981)

    Morteza Abedinifard, Solo Persian setar

    Scherzo quasi futurista (1926)
    Isaia Billè (1874-1961)

    Evan Schollie, double bass

    Phantom of the Opera Medley (1986)
    Andrew Lloyd Webber (b. 1948)
    Arranged. by Chelsea Goulet (b. 1997)

    Brianna Bolt, bass clarinet
    Chelsea Goulet, clarinet
    Asha Kutcher clarinet
    Emma Nokes, clarinet
    Sydney Waddell, clarinet


    Piano Sonata Op. 31, No. 3, movement 1 ( 1802)
    Ludwig Beethoven (1770-1827)

    Katrina MacKinnon, piano

    Una Furtiva Lagrima (1832)
    Gaetano Donizetti (1797-1848)

    Elsie Hoover, piano
    Laren Steppler, vocals

    Alec Wilder's 22 duets for Horns, Nos. 1, 3, 14 (1968)
    Alec Wilder (1907-1980)

    Juanita Hohm, French Horn
    Alex McNaughton, French Horn

    Jingeh Jan ("Dear Harpist") (2005)
    Ahmad Ashoorpoor (1918-2008)
    Arranged by Darya Dadvar (b. 1971)

    Qizlarin xoru ("Girls Chorus"), from Arshin Mal Alan ( "The Cloth Peddler" , 1913)
    Uzeyir Hajibeyov (1885-1948)

    Danial Asadi, snare drum
    Shirzad Azarmi, Tar
    Babak Bohlouli, piano
    Ghazal Taheri, vocals

    Ferramenta (1905)
    Ernesto Nazareth (1863 - 1934)

    Joropo (1944)
    Moises Moleiro (1904-1979)

    Ana Priolo-Marin, piano

    Little Fugue in G Minor (1703)
    J.S. Bach (1685 - 1750)
    Arranged by Michael W. Allen

    U of A Brass Choir
    Conductor: Meijun Chen

    Yitian Fan, tuba
    Sabina Fassbender, trombone
    Kelsey Getzinger, trombone
    Juanita Hohm, french horn
    Natalie Krehut, Eb trumpet
    Alicia Krips, french horn
    Rosie Li, euphonium
    Alex McNaughton, french horn
    Hannah Pinault, trumpet
    Jordan Smale, piccolo trumpet
    Matthew Sullivan, flugelhorn
  • 2. About the Music Student's Association
    The Music Student's Association (MSA) is dedicated to building a strong and connected community both within and beyond the Department of Music. They strive to achieve this by acting as a liaison for students within the department, as well as hosting various events to boost camaraderie and community. The MSA hosts monthly pancake days, seasonal events, free noon hour concerts and a winter formal. One of these events is Musaics, encouraging students to form their own groups to create music together.

    Currently the MSA is composed of: Brianna Bolt (President), Kayleigh Francis (VP), Sonia Campbell (Secretary), Alicia Krips (Treasurer), Laren Steppler (Event Coordinator), Chelsea Goulet (Event Coordinator) Donna Benjamin (Event Coordinator), and Bronwen Taylor (First Year Representative).