Championship Tradition

Mark Goodkey Memorial Trophy

In memory of former Golden Bears Hockey player Mark Goodkey, who died tragically on March 25, 1996. Goodkey played for the Golden Bears hockey team from 1992-96 but was fatally injured in an off-campus hockey game after the Bear’s season had concluded. He was a two-time CIAU Academic All-Canadian, two-time Clare Drake Award winner and received the Henry Singer Bursary Award in his final season. The Alberta Junior Hockey League (AJHL) has an annual scholarship to honour the former Junior "A" player.  There is also a scholarship in Mark’s name that is awarded annually to two Golden Bear hockey players.

Year Recipient Sport(s)
2017-18 Ed Ilnicki Football
2016-17 Niko Saler Soccer
2015-16 Jordan Rowley Hockey
2014-15 Joe Byram Swimming
2013-14 Jordan Baker Basketball
2012-13 Greg Gardner Hockey
2011-12 Brendan Bottcher Curling
2010-11 Derek Ryan Hockey
2009-10 Tyler Metcalfe Hockey
2008-09 Brett Colvin Soccer
2007-08 Hugh O'Neill Football
2006-07 Anthony Kulak Wrestling
2005-06 Perry Johnson Hockey
2004-05 Perry Johnson Hockey
2003-04 Jeff Zorn Hockey
2002-03 Blair St. Martin Hockey
2001-02 Jeff Zorn Hockey
2000-01 Carlo Panaro Football Wrestling
1999-00 Carlo Panaro Football Wrestling
1998-99 Carlo Panaro Football Wrestling
1997-98 Cam Danyluk Hockey
1996-97 Mike Sieben Volleyball
1995-96 Tom Mix Hockey