2017 Green and Gold Nominees Announced

    U of A major award winners will be announced on Thursday

    By Connor Hood on April 4, 2017

    Golden Bears and Pandas Athletics will honour the top male and female student-athletes at the 2016-17 Green and Gold Athletic Awards on Thursday, April 6th at the Myer Horowitz Theatre on the main campus of the University of Alberta.  

    The annual awards banquet, which began in the 1930’s as part of a University of Alberta year-end banquet, showcases Golden Bears and Pandas student-athletes, as team MVP awards are handed out, as well as the Bakewell and Wilson Challenge trophies for the Male and Female Athletes of the Year. Rookies of the Year, both male and female, will also be awarded as will the prestigious Block ‘A’ ring (presented to student-athletes who have demonstrated an exceptional contribution to interuniversity sport in the areas of athletics, academics, community support, and leadership) and the R.G. Glassford Award (presented to assistant coaches of a Golden Bears or Pandas team, or a coach outside of the University of Alberta system that has contributed significantly to the U of A programs).

    Since its inception in 1948, the Bakewell Trophy has been awarded to the top female athlete who exhibits athletic prowess, leadership, character, and academic ability at Alberta, while the Wilson Challenge Trophy has been awarded to the top male athlete at Alberta since 1934-35.

    Female Rookie of the Year nominees:
    Anna Dunn – Pandas Soccer
    Kennedy Ganser – Pandas Hockey
    Hayley Heffel – Pandas Wrestling
    Jesse Iles – Pandas Curling
    Vanessa Jarman – Pandas Volleyball
    Emma Kary – Pandas Basketball
    Georgia Kidd – Pandas Swimming

    Male Rookie of the Year nominees:
    Tyson Baillie – Golden Bears Hockey
    Caleb Boorse – Golden Bears Curling
    Austin Cole – Golden Bears Track & Field
    Carter O’Donnell – Golden Bears Football
    Ajeej Sarkaria – Golden Bears Soccer
    Taryq Sani – Golden Bears Volleyball
    Bjoern-Ole Schrader – Golden Bears Swimming

    Wilson Challenge Trophy nominees:
    Spencer Allen – Golden Bears Track & Field
    Nick Kostiuk – Golden Bears Swimming
    Niko Saler – Golden Bears Soccer
    Thomas Scoffin – Golden Bears Curling
    Brett Walsh – Golden Bears volleyball

    Bakewell Trophy nominees:
    Meg Casault – Pandas Volleyball
    Fallon Dickie – Pandas Soccer
    Carline Muir – Pandas Track & Field
    Lindsey Post – Pandas hockey
    Maddie Rogers – Pandas Basketball
    Amanda Smith – Pandas Rugby
    Kristen Streifel – Pandas Curling