2018 Green and Gold Award nominees announced

    U of A major award winners will be announced on Thursday

    By Connor Hood on April 3, 2018

    Golden Bears and Pandas Athletics will honour the top male and female student-athletes at the 2017-18 Green and Gold Athletic Awards on Thursday, April 5th at the Myer Horowitz Theatre on the main campus of the University of Alberta.  

    The annual awards banquet, which began in the 1930’s as part of a University of Alberta year-end banquet, showcases Golden Bears and Pandas student-athletes as team MVP awards are handed out, as well as the Bakewell and Wilson Challenge trophies for the Male and Female Athletes of the Year. Male and Female Rookies of the Year will also be awarded, as will the prestigious Block ‘A’ ring (presented to student-athletes who have demonstrated an exceptional contribution to interuniversity sport in the areas of athletics, academics, community support, and leadership) and the R.G. Glassford Award (presented to assistant coaches of a Golden Bears or Pandas team, or a coach outside of the University of Alberta system that has contributed significantly to the U of A programs).

    Since its inception in 1948, the Bakewell Trophy has been awarded to the top female athlete who exhibits athletic prowess, leadership, character, and academic ability at Alberta, while the Wilson Challenge Trophy has been awarded to the top male athlete since 1934-35.

    Female Rookie of the Year nominees: 

    Courtney Holtkamp – Pandas Rugby 
    Abby Krzyzaniak – Pandas Hockey
    Catherina Kluyts – Pandas Track and Field
    Brooke Lang – Pandas Soccer
    Selena Sturmay – Pandas Curling
    Julia Zonneveld – Pandas Volleyball

    Male Rookie of the Year nominees:

    Wesley Calef – Golden Bears Track and Field
    Steven Owre – Golden Bears Hockey
    Kiran Phaterpekar – Golden Bears Tennis
    Nathan Rowe – Golden Bears Football
    Jordan Wong – Golden Bears Wrestling

    Wilson Challenge Trophy nominees: 

    Brody Clarke – Golden Bears Basketball
    Austin Cole – Golden Bears Track & Field 
    Nicholas Goleniec – Golden Bears Wrestling
    Ed Ilnicki – Golden Bears Football 
    Alex McMullin – Golden Bears Volleyball
    Luke Philp – Golden Bears Hockey
    Karsten Sturmay – Golden Bears Curling

    Bakewell Trophy nominees: 

    Georgia Kidd – Pandas Swimming
    Autumn MacDougall – Pandas Hockey
    Eryn Orysiuk – Pandas Volleyball
    Jamie Pasemko – Pandas Soccer
    Kristina Sanjevic – Pandas Tennis