Bears and Pandas win third-straight Alberta Cup

    Bears and Pandas won 52 inter-collegiate games against Alberta opponents in 2018/19

    By Connor Hood on March 27, 2019

    The University of Alberta Golden Bears and Pandas were once again the class of the Albertan varsity sports programs, as they captured their third-straight Alberta Cup title. 

    Alberta finished with 52 wins in 67 inter-collegiate games between the Alberta universities, and a 0.784 winning percentage. They finished with only four more wins than the Calgary Dinos, but their winning percentage was considerably higher, with the Dinos finishing at 0.674.

    Mount Royal (0.419), Lethbridge (0.246), and MacEwan (0.197) finished third through fifth, respectively.

    The 52 wins by Alberta is also their second-highest total in the four-year existence of the Alberta Cup, behind only the 55 they tallied in 2017/18. 

    The Alberta Cup is an annual competition between the Canadian University Sport programs at the Universities of Alberta, Calgary and Lethbridge, as well as Mount Royal University and MacEwan University. All five universities are members of the provincially funded Alberta Universities Athletics Association, and the Alberta Cup was created to annually award the AUAA member that achieves the most success against its provincial rivals.

    Each season the university sport programs at those five universities compete against each other in head-to-head action in football, women's rugby and men's and women's soccer, basketball, volleyball and hockey, and the results from those head-to-head games are tracked in the Alberta Cup standings. 

    2018/19 Alberta Cup Standings

    W L T PCT
    Alberta 52 14 1 0.784
    Calgary 48 23 1 0.674
    Mount Royal 25 35 2 0.419
    Lethbridge 14 44 1 0.246
    MacEwan 7 30 1 0.197
    TOTAL 146 146 6

    All-Time Alberta Cup Standings (2015-2019)

    W L T PCT
    Alberta 192 59 6 0.759
    Calgary 166 96 8 0.63
    Mount Royal 93 143 14 0.4
    Lethbridge 67 145 8 0.323
    MacEwan 34 109 6 0.248
    TOTAL 552 552 42

    Alberta Cup Winners

    2018/19: Alberta Golden Bears and Pandas

    2017/18: Alberta Golden Bears and Pandas

    2016/17: Alberta Golden Bears and Pandas

    2015/16: Calgary Dinos