Alberta Cup

The Alberta Cup is an annual competition between the Canadian Interuniversity Sport programs at the Universities of Alberta, Calgary and Lethbridge, as well as Mount Royal University and MacEwan University. All five universities are members of the provincially funded Alberta Universities Athletics Association (AUAA), and the Alberta Cup was created to annually award the AUAA member that achieves the most success against its provincial rivals.

Each season the university sport programs at those five universities compete against each other in head-to-head action in football, women's rugby and men's and women's soccer, basketball, volleyball and hockey, and the results from those head-to-head games are tracked in the Alberta Cup standings. The university with the highest winning percentage at the end of the competitive season is then awarded the Alberta Cup.

The 2015-16 season was the inaugural year for the Alberta Cup, and after 127 total games among the AUAA members, the University of Calgary Dinos emerged as winners thanks to a 41-20-2 record and a .667 winning percentage against the other AUAA members. The Alberta Golden Bears and Pandas were second with a 38-20 record (.655), while Mount Royal was third in the Alberta Cup standings with a 22-33 (.405) record against Alberta university competition.

136 total games were played in the 2016-17 season, with the Alberta Golden Bears and Pandas emerging as the victors. UAlberta finished the season with a 47-13-1 record, as well as a .779 winning percentage. After winning the inaugural Alberta Cup the previous season, Calgary came in second in 2017-18 with a 40-26-3 (.601) record. Mount Royal University earned their second-consecutive third place finish with a 25-33-5 (.437) record. 

The Alberta Golden Bears and Pandas captured a second-consecutive Alberta cup title in 2017/18. Winning 55 games during Canada West play, the Bears and Pandas finished 18 games ahead the second place Calgary Dinos. Lethbridge earned their first top-three finish, while MRU and MacEwan finished fourth and fifth, respectively. 

2019/20 Alberta Cup Standings

        L   T   PCT  
Alberta 45 21 6 .667
Calgary 39 24 1 .617
Mount Royal 28 37 2 .433
MacEwan 10 21 7 .355
Lethbridge 17 36 6 .339
 TOTAL 139 139 22

Updated February 13, 2020

All-Time Alberta Cup Standings

Alberta 237 80 12 0.739
Calgary 205 120 9 0.627
Mount Royal 121 180 16 0.407
Lethbridge 84 181 14 0.326
MacEwan 44 130 13 0.270
TOTAL 691 691 64

Alberta Cup Winners

2019/20: Alberta Golden Bears and Pandas

2018/19: Alberta Golden Bears and Pandas

2017/18: Alberta Golden Bears and Pandas

2016/17: Alberta Golden Bears and Pandas

2015/16: Calgary Dinos