Holtkamp named to Canadian U-20 Rugby team

    2017 Canada West Rookie of the Year to take part in Tri-Nations Cup

    By Connor Hood on August 1, 2018

    Second-year Pandas rugby student-athlete Courtney Holtkamp has been named to Canada's U-20 squad for the upcoming Tri-Nations Cup in Nova Scotia. 

    This is the second-straight year Holtkamp has been selected to represent team Canada, after playing for the senior national team last November in England. 

    The Rimbey, Alberta product was sensational in her first season with the Pandas, leading the club in both tries and points, en route to being named both the Canada West Rugby, and University of Alberta Rookie of the Year in 2017/18. 

    Holtkamp is one of eight Canada West athletes named to the Canadian junior team, along with three Thunderbirds, two Vikes, and one Dino and Pronghorn. 

    Held at Acadia University and the Wanderers Ground in downtown Halifax, the Tri-Nations Cup will see U20 sides from USA, England and Canada face off over four game-days over a 12-day period in August. All games during the Tri-Nations Cup to be streamed live (details TBC). 

    Game details and ticket information:
     
    Aug. 7th -  Canada vs USA, Acadia University @ 6:30pm local time (5:30pm ET/2:30pm PT)

    Aug. 10th - Canada vs England, Acadia University @ 6:30pm local time (5:30pm ET/2:30pm PT)

    Aug. 14th - USA vs England, Acadia University @ 6:30pm local time (5:30pm ET/2:30pm PT)

    Aug. 18th - Canada v England, Wanderers Grounds, Halifax @ 4:00pm local time (3pm ET/12pm PT)