Bears and Pandas tennis set for national championships

Bears and Pandas off to Eastern Canada for 2018 Tennis Canada University Championships

By Connor Hood on August 7, 2018

Five months after each capturing the Western Regional Championship in Edmonton, both the Golden Bears and Pandas will look to continue their stellar seasons this weekend as they travel to the Tennis Canada University Championships.

The Pandas, who own an 8-0 match record in 2017/18, will look for their second-straight national title this weekend in Montreal. The two-time champs also earned a Canadian University Winter Championship in January, and have gone two years without losing a match (2016 national semifinal).

“The pressure is always going to be on, for every single one of us.” said fourth-year Panda RJ Gan. “But I think it’s because we have worked so hard leading up to the championship.”

Like the Pandas, the Bears are also undefeated in 2017/18, and looking for redemption after losing in last year’s national semifinal. The Alberta men head to Toronto with one of their deepest teams in program history, with returners including past team MVP’s Jeff James and Ryan Townsend, as well as national champions Sidney Yap, Vuk Radovic, and Kyle and Jordan Sluchinski.

“I’ve know these guys since I was 6 or 7 years old. And we are still great friends now, playing on the same team.” said James, the Bears MVP this season. “And I think we carry that mentality into our matches, always supporting each other on the court.”

The Pandas will begin their semifinal against Western on Friday in Montreal, while the Bears take on the Montreal Carabins on Saturday. Follow the Bears (@UABearsTennis) and the Pandas (@UAPandasTennis) for scoring updates during the championship.

Men’s Draw (Toronto):


Semifinal #1: Toronto vs New Brunswick (10:30 a.m. EST)
Semifinal #2: Alberta vs Montreal (10:30 a.m. EST)


Gold Medal Match: Winner SF1 vs Winner SF2 (10:30 a.m. EST)
Bronze Medal Match: Loser SF1 vs Loser SF2 (10:30 a.m. EST)

Women’s Draw (Montreal):


Semifinal #1: Montreal vs New Brunswick (11:30 a.m. EST)


Semifinal #2: Alberta vs Western (12:00 p.m. EST)


Gold Medal Match: Winner SF1 vs Winner SF2 (10:30 a.m. EST)
Bronze Medal Match: Loser SF1 vs Loser SF2 (10:30 a.m. EST)

Past Men’s Champions:

2017 – Western Mustangs
2016 – Alberta Golden Bears
2015 – Laval Rouge et Or
2014 – Alberta Golden Bears and Pandas *

* - Coed Champion

Past Women’s Champions:

2017 – Alberta Pandas
2016 – York Lions
2015 – York Lions
2014 – Alberta Golden Bears and Pandas *