• Friday, March 16, 2018
  • 1:00 PM
  • Hamilton, McM - Burridge Gym
  • Box Score
Score1234Final
QUE Gaels191925231
Golden Bears252519253
Golden Bears kill leader: Taryq Sani with 17

Second-seeded Bears to play Queens in U SPORTS QF

Canada West finalist Bears earn second seed for U SPORTS Championship

By U SPORTS Communications on March 11, 2018

TORONTO (U SPORTS) - The Trinity Western Spartans have been named men’s volleyball tournament favourites in the lead-up to an action-packed weekend of #CHAMPSZN. 
The TELUS 2018 U SPORTS Men’s Volleyball Championship kicks off on Friday at the Burridge Gymnasium in Hamilton, Ont., and concludes next Sunday with the gold-medal final at 4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT. All games will be live-streamed at USPORTS.LIVE. 
 
No. 1 Trinity Western Spartans
Playoff Finish: Canada West champions
Regular season / playoff records: 22-2/ 5-0
Last U SPORTS Championship: 2017
Total U SPORTS Championships: 5
 
Team Leaders
Kills per set: Eric Loeppky (4.05)
Blocks per set: Riley Vander Meulen (1.18)
Assists per set: Adam Schriemer (10.57)
Digs per set: Carter Bergen (2.19)
 
No. 2 Alberta Golden Bears
Playoff finish: Canada West finalists
Regular season / playoff records: 19-5 / 4-1
Last U SPORTS Championship: 2015 T
otal U SPORTS Championships: 8
Team Leaders Kills per set: Taryq Sani (4.07)
Blocks per set: George Hobern (1.08)
Assists per set: Luke Brisbane (9.80)
Digs per set: Taryq Sani (1.89)
 
Despite losing three graduating U SPORTS All-Canadians over the summer in Brett Walsh, Ryan Nickifor, and Taylor Arnett, the Golden Bears volleyball team never fell out of contention with one of their youngest rosters. Playing in arguably the toughest conference in Canada, Alberta finished third in Canada West with a 19-5 conference record and were routinely ranked inside the top five in the U SPORTS Top 10 rankings. 
Led by sophomore outside hitter Taryq Sani, who led Canada West with 362 kills, and finished 11th with 168 digs, the Bears set themselves up for another deep run at nationals following a series sweep of UBC in the semifinal.  Alberta’s trip to McMaster marks their 18th consecutive season qualifying for the U SPORTS Championship, and 23rd appearance in 25 seasons under head coach Terry Danyluk. 
No. 3 UBC Thunderbirds 
Playoff finish: Canada West bronze medalists
Regular season / playoff records: 20-4 / 3-2
Last U SPORTS championship: 1983
Total U SPORTS championships: 3
 
Team leaders
Kills per set: Irvan Brar (3.26)
Blocks per set: Joel Regehr (0.81)
Assists per set: Byron Keturakis (10.47)
Digs per set: Tyson Smith (2.03)

No. 4 Montreal Carabins 
 
Playoff finish: RSEQ champions
Regular season / playoff records: 12-2 / 2-0
Last U SPORTS Championship: 1970
Total U SPORTS championships: 1
 
Team leaders 
Kills per set: Godefroy Veyron-Trudel (3.88)
Blocks per set: Mikael Dagenais (1.41)
Assists per set: Gabriel Chancy (10.32)
Digs per set: Olivier Riopel (2.62)
 
No. 5 McMaster Marauders
 
Playoff finish: OUA champions / Hosts
Regular season / playoff records: 15-2 / 3-0
Last U SPORTS championship: Never
 
Team Leaders
Kills per set: Brandon Koppers (3.76)
Blocks per set: Peter Khodkevych (0.93)
Assists per set: David Doty (9.24)
Digs per set: Jordan Pereira (2.23)
 
No. 6 UNB Varsity Reds
 
Playoff finish: AUS champions
Regular season / playoffs records: 4-11 / 2-1
Last U SPORTS championship: None
 
Team leaders
Kills per set: Connor McConnell (3.13)
Blocks per set: Brad Stewart (1.14)
Assists per set: Kent Doucette (6.76)
Digs per set: Alex Egers (1.83)

No. 7 Queen’s Gaels
 
Playoff finish: OUA finalists
Regular season / playoff records: 10-8 / 2-1
Last U SPORTS championship: None
 
Team leaders
Kills per set: Markus Trence (3.65)
Blocks per set: Jack Peckham (0.81)
Assists per set: Zane Grossinger (9.72) 
 
No. 8 Windsor Lancers
 
Playoff Finish: OUA bronze medalists
Regular season / playoff records: 10-7 / 2-1
Last U SPORTS Championship: Never
 
Team Leaders: 
Kills per set: Brad Gyemi (3.60) 
Blocks per set: John Moate (1.26) 
Assists per set: Nolan Langley (9.40)
Digs per set: Matthew Pe Benito (1.87)

CHAMPIONSHIP SCHEDULE
 
Friday, Mar. 16 (Quarter-finals)
UBC vs. UNB, 1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. PT 
Alberta vs. Queen’s, 3 p.m. ET / 12 p.m. PT
Montreal vs. McMaster, 6 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. PT 
Trinity Western vs. Windsor, 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT