• Friday, March 15, 2019
  • 1:00 PM
  • Québec, LAVAL - Physical Education Pavilion
  • Box Score
Score123Final
Golden Bears2625253
MRU Cougars2418230
Bears kill leader: Taryq Sani with 18

Bears earn wild card spot, seeded 5th at nationals

Alberta to play Mount Royal in the U SPORTS quarter-final on Friday

By U SPORTS Communications on March 10, 2019

TORONTO (U SPORTS) – The Brandon Bobcats have been named men’s volleyball tournament favourites in the lead-up to an action-packed weekend of #CHAMPSZN.

First serve of the 2019 U SPORTS Men’s Volleyball Championship Presented by Hôtel Universel Quebec, hosted by the Laval Rouge et Or in Quebec City, flies on Friday at the Amphithéâtre Desjardins-Université Laval. The tournament concludes next Sunday with the championship final at 4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT. All games will be live streamed at USPORTS.LIVE. 

CHAMPIONSHIP SCHEDULE

Thursday, Mar. 14

All-Canadian Awards Breakfast, 7:30 a.m. ET / 4:30 a.m. PT

Friday, Mar. 15 (Quarterfinals)

No.  1 Brandon vs. No. 8 Montreal, 1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. PT
No. 4 Mount Royal vs. No. 5 Alberta, 3 p.m. ET / 12 p.m. PT
No. 2 Trinity Western vs. No. 7 McMaster, 6 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. PT
No. 3 Laval vs. No. 6 Queen’s, 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT

Full championship schedule available here.

No. 1 Brandon Bobcats

Playoff Finish: Canada West champions
Regular Season/playoff records: 20-2 / 5-1
Last U SPORTS Championship: Never

No. 2 Trinity Western Spartans

Playoff finish: Canada West finalists
Regular season / playoff records: 18-4 / 4-2
Last U SPORTS championship: 2017
Total U SPORTS championships: 5No. 3 Laval Rouge et Or

Playoff finish: RSEQ champions / hosts

Regular season / playoff records: 16-0 / 4-0
Last U SPORTS championship: 2013
Total U SPORTS championships: 4

No. 4 Mount Royal Cougars

Playoff finish: Canada West semifinalists / At-large berth
Regular season / playoff records: 15-7 / 3-2
Last U SPORTS championship: Never

No. 5 Alberta Golden Bears

Playoff finish: Canada West quarterfinalists / at-large berth
Regular season / playoff records: 17-5 / 0-2
Last U SPORTS championship: 2015
Total U SPORTS championships: 8

Team leaders

Kills per set: Taryq Sani, 3.73
Blocks per set: Jacob Deinum, 0.87
Assists per set: Max Elgert, 9.28
Digs per set: Jared Schubert, 1.84

Despite failing to qualify for the conference semifinal for the first time since 1988, the Golden Bears advanced to the U SPORTS Championship for the 19th straight season.

The Golden Bears finished third in Canada West with a 17-5 record, and were continually ranked inside the top seven in the U SPORTS rankings. However a poor showing in the quarterfinal against Thompson Rivers saw them get swept 2-0 at home.

Alberta has captured eight national titles, seven of which under Terry Danyluk, and are looking for their first since winning back-to-back in 2014 and 2015.

The Bears are led by fifth-year First Team All-Star Alex McMullin, who finished the season as one of only five Bears ever to finish their career with 1,000 kills. Third-year Taryq Sani also finished with another all-star season, leading the team with 3.73 kills per set.

No. 6 Queens Gaels

Playoff finish: OUA champions
Regular season / playoff records: 15-3 / 3-0
Last U SPORTS championship: Never

No. 7 McMaster Marauders

Playoff finish: OUA finalists
Regular season / playoff records: 15-2 / 2-1
Last U SPORTS championship: Never

No. 8 Montreal Carabins

Playoff finish: RSEQ finalists
Regular season / playoff records: 12-4 / 2-2
Last U SPORTS championship: 1970
Total U SPORTS championships: 1