• Friday, March 16, 2018
  • 11:00 AM
  • Québec, LAVAL - Physical Education Pavilion
  • Box Score
Score12345Final
Pandas15202525153
UdeM Carabins25251722122
Pandas kill leader: Erin Corbett with 12

Pandas seeded seventh for U SPORTS Championship

Pandas to take on No. 2 Montreal Carabins in national quarter-final on Friday

By U SPORTS Communications on March 11, 2018

The Calgary Dinos have been named women’s volleyball tournament favourites in the lead-up to an action-packed weekend of #CHAMPSZN.
 
The 2018 U SPORTS Women’s Volleyball Championship presented by Hôtel Universel Québec kicks off on Friday at Amphithéâtre Desjardins-Université Laval in Quebec City and concludes next Sunday with the gold-medal final at 5 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. PT. All games will be livestreamed at USPORTS.LIVE.
 
No. 1 Calgary Dinos
Playoff finish: Canada West champions
Regular season / playoff records: 21-3 / 5-0
Last U SPORTS championship: 2004
Total U SPORTS championships: 4
Team leaders
Kills per set: Kate Pexman (3.90)
Blocks per set: Beth Vinnell (1.19)
Assists per set:  Leah Shevkenek (8.87)
Digs per set: Kennedy Snape (3.64)
 
No. 2 Montreal Carabins
 
Playoff finish: RSEQ champions
Regular season / playoff records: 18-2 / 4-0
Last U SPORTS championship: Never
Team leaders
Kills per set: Marie-Alex Bélanger (3.98)
Blocks per set: Elinora Pentcheva (1.00)
Assists per set: Katia Forcier (9.42)
Digs per set: Stéphanie Lojen (2.64)

No. 3 UBC Thunderbirds
 
Playoff finish: Canada West finalists
Regular season / playoff records: 20-4 / 4-1
Last U SPORTS championship: 2017
Total U SPORTS championships: 11
Team leaders
Kills per set: Kiera Van Ryk (3.74)
Blocks per set: Ciara Hanly (1.03)
Assists per set: Alessandra Gentile (8.90)
Digs per set: Samantha Patko (3.46)
 
No. 4 Ryerson Rams
 
Playoff finish: OUA Champions
Regular season / playoff records: 19-0 / 3-0
Last U SPORTS championship: Never 
Team leaders
Kills per set: Lauren Veltman (3.45)
Blocks per set: Theanna Vernon (1.29)
Assists per set: Alicia Lam (9.32)
Digs per set: Julie Longman (4.09)
 
No. 5 UBC Okanagan Heat
 
Playoff finish: Canada West semifinalists
Regular season / playoff records: 19-5 / 2-2
Last U SPORTS championship: Never
Team leaders
Kills per set: Michelle Jakszuk (2.80)
Blocks per set: Erin Drew (1.20)
Assists per set: Sara McCreary (10.22)
Digs per set: Sophia Furlan (2.60)
 
No. 6 Dalhousie Tigers
 
Playoff finish: AUS champions
Regular season / playoff records: 19-1 / 2-0
Last U SPORTS championship: 1982
Total U SPORTS championships: 1
Team Leaders
Kills per set: Julie Moore (3.68)
Blocks per set: Victoria Haworth (1.0)
Assists per set: Courtney Baker (9.36)
Digs per set: Catherine Callaghan (4.37)
 
No. 7 Alberta Pandas
Playoff finish: Canada West semifinalists
Regular season / playoff records: 15-9 / 2-3
Last U SPORTS Championship: 2007
Total U SPORTS Championships: 7
Team Leaders
Kills per set: Kory White (3.71)
Blocks per set: Shauny Hogg (1.01)
Assists per set: Eryn Orysiuk (9.92)
Digs per set:  Jenae Eisler (3.51)
While entering the season in somewhat of a rebuild after losing key pieces of last year’s Canada West champion, and U SPORTS silver-medal winning team, the Alberta Pandas were still one of the best teams in Canada West. With as many as four first-year Pandas in their starting lineup, Alberta finished fourth in Canada West with a 15-9 conference record, and were a mainstay inside the U SPORTS Top 10.
 
In search of their third national medal in four years, and their first national championship since 2007, the Pandas will be led by first-year Kory White, and veteran setter Eryn Orysiuk. White led the Pandas with 352 kills in her first season with the program, while Orysiuk, after spending a season as the team’s starting libero, transferred back to setter, breaking the conference assists record with 942 this season.
 
No. 8 Laval Rouge et Or
 
Playoff finish: RSEQ finalists / Hosts
Regular season / playoff records: 14-6 / 2-2
Last U SPORTS championship: 2006
Total U SPORTS championships: 1 
Team leaders
Kills per set: Maud Chapleau (2.70)
Blocks per set: Alex Béraud (0.61)
Assists per set: Émie Gaboury (9.33) 
Digs per set: Maud Chapleau (3.53)
 
CHAMPIONSHIP SCHEDULE
Friday, Mar. 16 (Quarter-finals)
Montreal vs. Alberta,  1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. PT
UBC vs. Dalhousie, 3 p.m. ET / 12 p.m. PT
Calgary vs. Laval, 6 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. PT
Ryerson vs. UBC Okangan, 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT