• Friday, February 22, 2019
  • 10:00 AM
  • Calgary, Calgary - Jack Simpson Gym

U SPORTS Wrestling Championship Preview

National Wrestling Championship starts Friday in Calgary

By U SPORTS Communications on February 21, 2019

The Brock Badgers will look to capture their sixth consecutive golden sweep when the 2019 U SPORTS Wrestling Championships begin this week. 

Past champions

Brock, who has set the bar for Canadian wrestling programs in both men’s and women’s competition, have coach Marty Calder to thank for their program success since he helped the Badgers win their first national championship as an athlete. Both teams are ranked first in the nation heading into the national championship, with the men seeking their sixth straight banner and 19th overall while the women are looking for their eighth consecutive and ninth all-time title.

The 2019 U SPORTS Wrestling Championships run Feb 22-23 at the University of Calgary.

CANADA WEST MEN

Conference champion: Alberta
Last U SPORTS Championship: 2013
Total U SPORTS Championships: 5
Silver: Saskatchewan
Bronze: Fraser Valley


CANADA WEST WOMEN
Conference champion: Saskatchewan
Silver: Alberta
Bronze: Calgary
Full Results

The Alberta Golden Bears men’s team and the Saskatchewan Huskies women’s squad were the big winners as the 2019 Canada West Wrestling Championships.

The Golden Bears took home the men’s team banner by the slimmest of margins – with 41 combined points, they nipped their Saskatchewan counterparts (40) by a single point. It was the 12th Canada West men’s crown in program history for the Alberta program, their third in a row an sixth in the last seven years. The host University of the Fraser Valley Cascades finished third (33) to match the best finish in team history, and the Calgary Dinos (20) were fourth.

The Golden Bears saw four of their grapplers climb to the top step of the podium: Jordan Wong (57 kg), Nathen Schmidt (61 kg), Miles Kent (72 kg) and Nicholas Goleniec (82 kg). Other men’s division champs included UFV’s Brad Hildenbrandt (120 kg) and De’Andre Williams (68 kg); Saskatchewan’s Logan Sloan (54 kg), Hunter Lee (90 kg) and Liam Graham (100 kg); and Calgary’s McNeice brothers, Callum (76 kg) and Connor (65 kg).

Having dominated the conference for close to a decade, the Golden Bears are looking to break through at the U SPORTS Championships for the first time since 2013. The Golden Bears have won six of the last seven Canada West Championships, and earned their third-straight two weeks ago in Fraser Valley. The Bears now lead the conference with 12 total conference banners. Alberta has been consistently ranked inside the Top 3 in the U SPORTS Rankings, opening the season at No. 1. The Bears should be favoured to place inside the top three, with an outside shot at knocking off the Brock Badgers, and claiming their fifth U SPORTS Championship this weekend.

CHAMPIONSHIP SCHEDULE
Thursday, Feb. 21

Weigh-ins – 4:00 p.m. ET / 1:00 p.m. PT

Friday, Feb. 22
Round 1 – 12:00 p.m. ET / 9:00 a.m. PT
Round 2 – 3:00 p.m. ET / 12:00 p.m. PT
Round 3 – 5:30 p.m. ET / 2:30 p.m. PT

Saturday, Feb. 23

5th and 7th place matches – 3:00 p.m. ET / 12:00 p.m. PT
Bronze medal matches – 5:00 p.m. ET / 2:00 p.m. PT
Gold medal matches – 7:00 p.m. ET / 4:00 p.m. PT