2018 Community Awards Banquet in Photos

Take an inside look at Augustana's annual Community Awards Banquet with photos that capture the night's celebration of community and cheer.

Sydney Tancowny - 21 March 2018

On February 27, 2018, Augustana hosted our annual Community Awards Banquet. This year marked the 45th anniversary of the Community Awards Program and, once again, over 300 guests joined us on campus to celebrate student achievement and donor generosity.

If you were unable to join us (and even if you were there!), we hope you enjoy the photos from this special evening.

Photographer: Saif Hossain.

Even though the banquet officially began at 6 pm, preparing for the event started early with 24 volunteers helping in the days and weeks leading up to the event. A huge thank you to all of our volunteers!

In addition to celebrating our donors and students, every year we are honoured to recognize our anniversary donors, our citation award recipients and our 2017 Distinguished Alumni Award recipient.

The evening began as students arrived at the K. Glen Johnson Faith & Life Centre.

In the Faith & Life Lounge, Tim Hanson, Assistant Dean, External Relations, helped our guests find their way.

Volunteer, Anne McIntosh, helps direct donor Ed Williams and student, Evelyn Mertins.

Empty only an hour before, the room quickly filled with our guests!

Before the evening's program begins, donors and students are given the opportunity to visit and get to know each other. Pictured above: donor, Tim Forberg, and student, Hannah Mitchell.

City of Camrose representatives, Mayor Norm Mayor and Director, Accounting and Assessment Darren Lockhart.

ASA President, Ben Curry, and MC, Jonathan Hawkins, visit before the start of the program.

Donor Marion Bennett reads a thank you letter from one of her student award recipients.

Dr Odell Olson, our 2017 Distinguished Alumni Award recipient, and his wife, Karen Olson.

The Augustana Choir commenced the night once again this year. Their chosen song was "Ambe", which translates to "Come in" or "Welcome", "Come in all two-legged beings".

Our MC this year was Augustana's Assistant Registrar, Jonathan Hawkins.

Student Chaplain, Leah Marshall, gave a prayer of thanksgiving before the meal.

The evening's meal was provided by Augustana Food Services-always a highlight of the night!

Lilas Bielopotocky, Supervisor of Augustana Food Services, joined us to help serve guests prime rib, a meal made possible because of the generous support of Sysco Edmonton.

Friend, donor and former staff member, Raymond Blacklock.

Bree Urkow, Assistant Director, Development thanked Augustana's generous donor community and remarked upon the positive impact each and every one of our donors have in contributing to the life of our students and Augustana Campus.

We were honoured to recognize our anniversary award donors during the evening. Their long-term and continued, generous commitment has impacted the lives of over 500 students through the years!

Dean Allen Berger recognized the partnership between Augustana Campus and Community Awards Program donors, and how it contributes to the success, health and accomplishments of Augustana students.

Debbie McIntosh, Augustana's new Assistant Dean Advancement, joined campus on February 1 and introduced herself during the program

Dean Berger congratulated and presented award certificates to this year's citation award winners-Timothy Shapka, recipient of The Right Honourable Don Mazankowski Entrance Citation and Makenzee Kruger, recipient of the Gunvor and Erik Mygind Entrance Citation.

A long-held tradition of the banquet-donors presenting their student award recipients with their award certificate. Pictured here is Ricoh Canada Inc. Award representative, Michael Gabriel congratulating student Sheldon Manners.

Dr Odell Olson was celebrated as our 2017 Distinguished Alumni Award recipient for his outstanding contributions to his discipline as a rural physician.

Dr Odell Olson gave his thanks and spoke of the many people who have inspired him over the years-his father, his friend and his professors.

Makenzee Kruger spoke on behalf of the students to thank all donors for their support and investment in Augustana students.

Student award recipient Darian Smigorowsky with donor Brandi Chytracek.

Student Shianne Fairlie with donor Dr Kenneth Cha.

Student Lee McDonald with Provincial Chapter of Alberta IODE Award representative, Val Braiden.

Donors Larry and Margaret Rathnavalu with student recipient Dami Lawal.