2019 Community Awards Banquet in Photos

As another academic year comes to a close, we take a look back at the Community Awards Banquet and the donors who have helped make this year possible for students.

Sydney Tancowny - 03 May 2019

Augustana's 2019 Community Awards Banquet was held on February 12 this year, and over 340 guests attended our annual celebration of student accomplishment and donor generosity!

Thank you to all who joined us on this special evening.

Please enjoy a look back on the event! (Photos by: Saif Hossain)

The evening began as students started to arrive-checking in with Augustana volunteers just outside the event.

This year, students and donors met at their tables. After arriving, students proceeded into the Banquet where they waited with anticipation for their donors and representatives to arrive.

Volunteer Cindy Edge greeted award donors and representatives and helped them find their seats.

With Cindy's help, our donors and students joyfully greeted each other!

Donors and students enjoyed visiting and getting to know one another prior to the meal and program.

It was also a good time for friends to catch up! Pictured: Arnold Malone and Verlyn & Mardell Olson.

The Augustana Choir joined us again this year to begin the night's program and give the blessing of the meal.

Once again, Augustana Food Services prepared a delicious meal to Banquet guests, featuring prime rib generously donated by Sysco Edmonton.

Assistant Director of Development and Community Awards Program coordinator, Bree Urkow, gave an overview of the program's past 10 years and shared personal notes of thanks from Augustana student award recipients.

This year's anniversary award donors were recognized for 10 to 45 years of commitment to Augustana students and their education.

Dean Allen Berger thanked award donors for their generosity and invited students who have benefited from this generosity to consider giving back in the future.

Dean Allen Berger presented Emmarie Brown (recipient of the Gunvor and Erik Mygind Entrance Citation) and Drew Fitzgerald (recipient of The Right Honourable Don Mazankowski Entrance Citation) with their awards.

This year, we recognized 2018 Distinguished Alumni Award recipient, Brian Wildcat, for his instrumental work in advancing Indigenous education and spearheading the creation of the Maskwacis Education Schools Commission (MESC).

Brian spoke to guests about being an alumnus of Augustana and creating MESC. Congratulations, Brian!

The whole room gave a standing ovation in recognition of Brian Wildcat and his achievements.

Student and The Right Honourable Don Mazankowski Entrance Citation recipient, Drew Fitzgerald, thanked donors for giving her and other students the chance to pursue their goal of a university education.

Student Korah Horbay and Rotary Club of Camrose Award representative, Ted Gillespie.

Paul "Sparky" and Cathy Johnson with Paul Sills Memorial Entrance Award in Drama recipient, Keegan Will.

ADVICO Financial Planning Group Award representative, Bruce Pound, with student Haley Kwan.

Student Joseph Tambasco and Ricoh Canada Inc. Award representative, Michael Gabriel.

Award donors Ben and Sandra McIsaac with their first student recipient, Daniel Wiltzen.

Centennial Food Service Award in Community Service Learning representative, Ken Ma, and first student recipient, Melissa Wilk.

Award donor Tracey Brandingen and her award's first student recipient, Karen Dumas.

ATCO Award representative, Blair Bishop, and student Rama Taha.

Ziesel Family Scholarship in Science representative, Jason Urkow, and student Luke Rostad.

TD Canada Trust Award representative, Lisa Vornbrock, and student Dustin Rupertus.

Duggan Dental/Dr. Kenneth H. Cha Professional Corporation Scholarship donor, Kenneth Cha, and student Toan Nguyen.