Canadian Business Leader Award

Each year since 1982, the Alberta School of Business and its Business Advisory Council (BAC) have presented the Canadian Business Leader Award (CBLA) to a Canadian of distinction.

Recognizing Business Leaders

CBLA recipients are individuals who have demonstrated leadership, business acumen and success, an entrepreneurial spirit, integrity, and a commitment to the community. The selection committee is comprised of members of the BAC, as well as students, faculty and alumni.

The CBLA dinner is the School’s signature event and brings together members of the Alberta business community for an evening of celebration, exceptional food, and networking. As well, over 100 students attend the dinner thanks to sponsoring individuals and companies.

Save the date for the next CBLA event on March 19, 2020.

2020 Recipient

Donald A. Wheaton 

Donald A. Wheaton is President and CEO of the Wheaton Group of Companies and the recipient of the 2020 Canadian Business Leader Award.

Donald A. Wheaton is the President and Chief Executive Officer of the Wheaton Group of Companies— a family business that was originally established by his father in the late 1940s. A second-generation entrepreneur, Don began his career with the family business in 1975 after graduating from the University of Alberta with a Bachelor of Commerce degree.

Since taking the helm in 1995, Don has grown the family business with a strong set of values, innovative thinking, and entrepreneurial leadership. Best known as the name behind one of the largest automotive retailers in Canada with dealerships from Victoria to Regina, the Wheaton family business interests have since diversified across Canada into real estate, insurance, aviation and banking. Today, the First Canadian Financial Group is the largest insurance group regulated by the Superintendent of Insurance in Alberta and is licensed and doing business in all provinces in Canada.

A champion of community involvement, Don has served on many community boards over the years and currently serves on the board of the Edmonton Flying Club, the Fraser Institute, the University of Alberta Hospital Foundation, and the University of Alberta Advancement Council.

Don is married to Kim and has four children and four grandchildren. All four children currently work as part of the third-generation in the family businesses.

Announcement - November 5, 2019