Alumni Events

28th Annual Business Alumni Association Dinner

Please join us at the 28th Annual Business Alumni Association Dinner as we celebrate the Alberta School of Business Centennial.

Meet former classmates, friends and colleagues as we toast 100 years of history with a panel of alumni discussing their experiences in the School’s four key areas of focus: Energy and the Environment, Entrepreneurship, Leadership and International Business.


Wednesday, November 2, 2016


Sutton Place Hotel
10235 – 101 Street


5:30 p.m. Networking Reception
6:30 p.m. Dinner and Presentation
8:00 p.m. Dessert Reception

2016 BAA Annual Dinner Panel:

Cynthia Hansen, '86 BCom
President, Gas Distribution & Power
Enbridge Inc
North York, Ontario

Cory Janssen, '04 BCom
President, Galt Capital
Co-founder, Janalta Interactive
Edmonton, Alberta

Badeia Jawhari, '09 BCom; '16 MSC
Director of Corporate Relations and Human Resources
Innovative Canadians for Change (ICChange)
Edmonton, Alberta

Dave Bryan, '89 BA
Managing Partner and Deals Practice Leader
PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP
Edmonton, Alberta

Past BAA Annual Dinner Speakers

November 6, 2014
Bindi Karia, '94 BCom
Vice President, Entrepreneur Banking
Silicon Valley Bank

November 14, 2013
Greg Abel, 1984 BCom
Chairman, President and CEO
 of MidAmerican Energy Holdings Company

November 22, 2012
Panel Members:

Janet Wood, 1982 BCom
Executive Vice President
Global Strategic Service Partners, SAP

Scott Gilmore, 1995 BCom
Chief Executive Officer and Founder
Building Markets

Jared Smith, 1998 BCom
Co-Founder and Principal
Incite Marketing

November 16, 2011
Panel Members:

Kim Krushell
City of Edmonton Councillor

Anne Smith
President & CEO, United Way, Alberta Capital Region

Gail Stepanik-Keber
Chief Marketing Officer, Servus Credit Union

November 2, 2010
Gerry Protti
Chairman, Flint Transfield Services

November 17, 2009
John Ferguson
Chairman of the Board, Suncor Energy

November 20, 2008
Dave Collyer
President, Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers         

October 10, 2007
Fred Singer and Jordan Singer
Henry Singer Fashion Group

November 22, 2006
Eveline Charles
President & CEO
Eveline Charles Salons & Spas

November 3, 2005
Dr. Jacqueline Shan
President, CEO and Chief Scientific Officer
CV Technologies

October 14, 2004
Dr. Greg Zeschuk and Dr. Ray Muzyka
Joint CEOs, BioWare Corp.
Co-Chairmen, CodeBaby Corp.

November 6, 2003
Patrick LaForge
President and CEO, Edmonton Oilers

October 24th, 2002
David O’Brien
Chairman, EnCana Corporation

October 25, 2001
Philippe and Nan-b de Gaspé Beaubien
Telemedia Inc and Business Families Foundation

October 19, 2000
Barbara Stymiest
President & CEO, Toronto Stock Exchange

October 14, 1999
Don Lowry
President & CEO, EPCOR

October 8, 1998
Peter Lougheed
Premier of Alberta 1971 – 1985

October 2, 1997
Linda Crompton
President & CEO, Citizens Bank of Canada

September 19, 1996
Eric Newell
Chairman, President & CEO, Syncrude Canada

September 28, 1995
Joe Clark
Former Prime Minister of Canada

September 22, 1994
Hugh Bolton
Past Chairman, Coopers & Lybrand

April 15, 1993
K. Michael Edwards
President, Richardson Greenshields
Former Chairman, Toronto Stock Exchange

May 14, 1992
Jack MacLeod
President & CEO, Shell Canada

May 30, 1991
Gordon Thiessen
Senior Deputy Governor, Bank of Canada

April 26, 1990
Ross Walker
Chairman and CEO, Peat Marwick Thorne

April 27, 1989
Paul Davenport
President-Elect, University of Alberta