Awards and Accolades - June 2020

Celebrating the achievements of Business faculty, staff, students and alumni.

30 June 2020

Faculty Excellence

Professor Michael Lounsbury

Professor Michael Lounsbury

Professor Michael Lounsbury has been selected as a recipient of the J. Gordin Kaplan Award for Excellence in Research, which is the University of Alberta's most prestigious research award.

Only two awards are presented annually to recognize outstanding work in distinct fields of research for excellence in the general area of humanities, social sciences, law, education and fine arts and; for excellence in the sciences or engineering. The award recognizes and honours:

  • faculty members whose research contributions, fundamental and applied, add significantly to our knowledge base
  • faculty members who are recognized nationally and internationally for their scholarly accomplishments
  • faculty members who set a standard of excellence for other University of Alberta faculty, graduate and undergraduate students and the community-at-large

Student Success

Congrats Class of 2020

Congratulations to all our students and welcome to the UAlberta Alumni community!

For the first time in the university’s 112-year history, convocation ceremonies were held online Friday, June 12. This year, 535 BCom, 251 Masters, and three PhD students graduated from the Alberta School of Business. Congratulations to the Class of 2020 for your achievement and perseverance!

This year's Hu Harries Medal winner is Alexander Kinsey. The medal is awarded annually to the student graduating with the highest academic standing in the final two years of the BCom program.

Alumni Accomplishments

CPA Alberta recently announced its 2020 Achievement Award recipients and Alberta School of Business alumni are well-represented! These exceptional individuals embody the core principles of the CPA profession: integrity, expertise, and commitment, and their activities and accomplishments bring honour to the profession and strengthen the reputation of all CPAs.

Lifetime Achievement Awards
The Lifetime Achievement Award is awarded to those CPAs whose continual commitment to the betterment of their profession, their communities, and the organizations they have served is unparalleled.

  • Howie Shikaze FCPA, FCA, '77 BCom

CPA Education Foundation Impact Award
The CPA Education Foundation’s 2020 Impact Award is presented posthumously to Robert (Bob) Young FCPA, FCA, '77 BCom who passed away in 2019. The award is in recognition of Bob’s legacy of service to the Foundation and to accounting education in Alberta.

Fellows of the Chartered Professional Accountants
The Fellow of Chartered Professional Accountants (FCPA) will be granted to those members who have rendered exceptional service to the profession or whose achievements in their careers, the community, or in the profession have earned them distinction and brought honour to the profession.

  • Daniel Adams FCPA, FCA, '79 BCom
  • Darwin Bozek FCPA, FCGA, '89 BCom
  • Jason Ding FCPA, FCA, '04 BCom
  • Lisa Majeau Gordon FCPA, FCA, '94 BCom
  • Bruce Picton FCPA, FCA, '88 BCom
  • Dale Somerville FCPA, FCA, '79 BCom
  • Patti Walsh FCPA, FCA, '83 BCom

Distinguished Service Awards
The Distinguished Service Award recognizes members or supporters of the profession who have demonstrated a significant achievement within the last five years and have therefore brought honour to the profession.

  • Geoff Oberg CPA, CA, '03 BCom
  • Jennifer Pede CPA, CA, '01 BCom

Early Achievement Awards
The Early Achievement Award recognizes CPAs who have had their accounting designation for 10 years or less and have rendered exceptional service to the profession or whose achievements in their careers or in the community have earned them distinction and brought honour to the profession.

  • Vivien Chu CPA, CA, '11 BCom
  • Ross Johnson CPA, CA, '92 BCom
  • Darren Liviniuk CPA, CA, '11 BCom
  • Maureen Moneta CPA, CA, '08 BCom
  • Christina Zschocke CPA, CGA, '05 BCom

Hempact, a women-led entrepreneurial venture focused on creating menstrual pads out of hemp, won $10,000 at an Inventures Unbound pitch competition last week. Nicole Sanchez '20 BCom is Hempact’s Project Manager.

Co-owner and Manager of Meuwly’s Artisan Food Market, Peter Keith, '19 BCom and current MBA student, has joined the National Executive Board of Directors of the Culinary Federation, which unites chefs and cooks across Canada in a common dedication to professional excellence.

If you would like to submit information about an award for yourself or on behalf of a colleague/peer, please submit the Share Your News form.