Boards and Committees

Oversight Board

The Oversight Board provides strategic direction to the Cancer Research Institute of Northern Alberta (CRINA). 

Name Title Affiliation
Dennis Kunimoto - Chair Dean  Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry
Ellen Wright Terrill Interim CEO Alberta Cancer Foundation 
Paula Robson Scientific Director, Cancer Research CancerControl Alberta
Declan Ali Associate Dean (Research) Faculty of Science 
Jason Carrey Associate Dean (Programs and Planning) Faculty of Engineering
Neal Davies  Dean  Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
Stanford Blade Dean  Faculty of Agricultural, Life and Environmental Sciences
Barbara Ballermann Chair  Department of Medicine
Charles Holmes Chair Department of Biochemistry
David Eisenstat  Chair  Department of Oncology
Cyril Kay  Professor Emeritus Department of Biochemistry 
Doug Goss Counsel Bryan & Company LLP
Lynne Postovit
Co-Director, CRINA
Department of Oncology
David Brindley Co-Director, CRINA Department of Biochemistry
Fred West Co-Director, CRINA Department of Chemistry
Chantelle Sedgwick Director, Operations CRINA

Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board provides valuable insight to CRINA strategic initiatives.

Name Title Affiliation
Lynne Postovit Co-Director. CRINA Department ofOncology, University of Alberta
David Brindley Co-Director, CRINA Department of Biochemistry, University of Alberta
Frederick West Co-Director, CRINA Department of Chemistry, University of Alberta
Gregory Cairncross MD, FRCP(C), Professor University of Calgary, Arnie Charbonneau Cancer Institute
Carol Cass Professor Emeritus University of Alberta
Connie Eaves PhD, FRS(C) Terry Fox Laboratory, BC Cancer Agency
Aaron Fenster PhD, FCCPM Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry
Spencer Gibson Professor University of Manitoba, CancerCare Manitoba
John Mackey Professor Department of Oncology, University of Alberta
Gordon Mills MD, PhD MD Anderson Cancer Center
Dennis Slamon MD, PhD
Brad Wouters Professor Ontario Institute for Cancer Research
Stephen Robbins Professor
University of Calgary, Arnie Charbonneau Cancer Institute

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee provides strategic and operational decisions for all major CRINA actions. It also receives and acts on reports provided from the operational committees. 

Name Title Department/Faculty
Lynne Postovit 
Co-Director, CRINA 
David Brindley Co-Director, CRINA  Biochemistry 
Fred West Co-Director, CRINA  Chemistry 
Chantelle Sedgwick Director, Operations CRINA
Joseph Brandwein Professor Medicine
David Eisenstat Professor Oncology
Catherine Field Professor
Agricultural, Life, and Environmental Sciences
Roseline Godbout  Acting Division Director (Oncology)
Matthias Gotte Chair/Professor Medical Microbiology & Immunology
Russell Greiner Professor Computing Science
Michael Hendzel Professor Oncology
John Mackey 
Director (Clinical Trials)
Michael Mengel Chair/Professor Laboratory Medicine & Pathology
Michael Overduin Professor Biochemistry
Paula Robson Scientific Director, Cancer Research CancerControl Alberta
Hasan Uludag Professor Chemical and Materials Engineering
Alan Underhill
Associate Professor  Oncology
Michael Walter Professor Medical Genetics
Roger Zemp Associate Professor Electrical and Computer Engineering

Education Committee 

The Education Committee ensures long-term sustainability of cancer research through educating all levels of learners in translational cancer research. This Committee plans and organizes CRINA seminars, including the Leaders in Cancer Research seminar series.

Name Title Department/Faculty
Mark Glover - Chair Professor Biochemistry
Shelagh Campbell Professor 
Biological Sciences
Catherine Field Professor  Agriculture, Life, and Environmental Sciences
Michael Hendzel 
Sujata Persad Associate Professor Pediatrics