CTL Advisory Committee

CTL delivers on its mission by bridging networks and leveraging expertise residing in partner programs (other university units with a mandate that touches on the learning environment) and faculties. The active link between CTL and faculties is CTL’s Advisory Committee. The Advisory is made up of a representative from each of the UofA’s faculties, usually an Associate Dean with teaching and learning in the portfolio, students, and representatives from other key stakeholder groups. This grass roots advisory identifies and helps shape CTL’s priorities and ultimately highlights key teaching and learning related issues for the UofA as a whole.

Faculty Representatives
Scott Jeffrey, Associate Dean (Academic), Agricultural, Life and Environmental Sciences
Allen Ball, Associate Dean (Teaching and Learning), Arts
Andras Marosi, Associate Dean (Undergraduate Programs), Business
Janet Wesselius, Associate Dean (Teaching), Augustana
Paulin Mulatris, Associate Dean, Campus Saint-Jean
Douglas Gleddie, Associate Chair (Graduate), Education
Jason Carey, Associate Dean (Programs and Planning), Engineering
Christie Schultz, Assistant Dean (Academics), Extension
Renee Polziehn, Professional Development and Outreach Director, FGSR
John Nychka, Associate Dean (Teaching and Learning), FGSR
Peter Sankoff, Associate Dean (Faculty Development), Law
Dale Askey, Vice-Provost (Learning Services) and Chief Librarian, Libraries
Carol Hodgson Birkman, Gilbert Chair in Medical Education and Scholarship, Medicine and Dentistry
Nathalie Kermoal, Associate Dean (Academic), Native Studies
Tanya Park, Associate Dean (Undergraduate Program), Nursing
Jill Hall, Assistant Dean (Professional Programs), Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
Angela Bayduza, Associate Dean (Faculty Affairs), Kinesiology, Sport, and Recreation 
Norm Neumann, Associate Dean (Education), Public Health
Bernadette Martin, Associate Dean (Strategic Initiatives), Rehabilitation Medicine
Gerda de Vries, Associate Dean (Learning and Innovation), Science

Student Representatives
Fahed Elian, Vice President Academic, Graduate Students Association
Akanksha Bhatnagar, Vice President Academic, Students' Union

Teaching Award Winners Group
Olenka Bilash, Professor, Secondary Education, 3M Teaching Award Winner

Janice Miller-Young, Academic Director 
Roger Graves, Associate Director (Writing)
Neil Haave, Associate Director (SoTL)
Norma Nocente, Associate Director (Educational Technology)
Cheryl Poth, Associate Director (Assessment)