Teaching Awards

The Centre for Teaching and Learning (CTL) promotes teaching excellence, scholarship and innovation by administering awards and funding. CTL's Strategic Initiatives Manager supports academics in their pursuit of teaching awards by helping to identify award opportunities and offering tips on developing a strong nomination package. Copies of previous successful nomination packages for many of these awards are available for review in CTL.  For more information or assistance contact Curtis Champagne, Strategic Initiatives Manager, Centre for Teaching and Learning (780.492.9302 or

Awards For Faculty Excellence
  • Distinguished University Professor
  • Henry Marshall Tory Chair
  • McCalla Professorship
  • University Cup
  • Vargo Teaching Chair

Awards For Teaching Excellence
  • Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching
  • Provost’s Award for Early Achievement of Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching
  • Rutherford Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching
  • Teaching Unit Award
  • William Hardy Alexander Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

External Teaching Awards
  • 3M National Teaching Fellowships (STLHE)
  • Alan Blizzard Award (STLHE)
  • Brightspace Innovation Award in Teaching and Learning (STLHE)
  • Distinguished Academic Award (CAUT)

Other Funding

For a complete list of academic awards and recipients visit Use the search tool or navigate to the award you are interested in. For discipline specific awards select the appropriate field of study and determine which award(s) are applicable.