Awards for Faculty Excellence

University of Alberta Awards for Faculty Excellence

Awards for Faculty Excellence Policy (UAPPOL)

Brief descriptions of the teaching related Awards for Faculty Excellence are published below. The application procedure and submission requirements for each award can be found by clicking on the award name.  

We welcome applications from all qualified persons. We encourage women; First Nations, Métis and Inuit persons; members of visible minority groups; persons with disabilities; persons of any sexual orientation or gender identity and expression; and all those who may contribute to the further diversification of ideas and the University to apply.

Distinguished University Professor (UAPPOL)

Description: The title of Distinguished University Professor at the University of Alberta recognizes those exceptional faculty members who are globally recognized leaders and whose exemplary teaching, research and citizenship have made them leaders in their disciplines internationally. They serve as senior advisors to the University Community, and act as mentors and exemplars to other professors. Full-time members of the academic teaching staff may be appointed as a University Professor.
Value: The DUP salary will be the salary as a full-time member ranked as Professor. The Office of the Provost will make available an additional allowance of $20,000 per year for the duration of the academic appointment. This allowance should be considered a research prize due to each awardee.  In 2018, up to two (2) Distinguished University Professors may be awarded.
Deadline: First working day of May.

Henry Marshall Tory Chair (UAPPOL)

Description: The Henry Marshall Tory Teaching Chairs are expected, through their teaching, research and service, to impact the University and the community. The appointments are intended for outstanding individuals who by their presence will enhance the reputation of the University and who can provide leadership and experience for the strengthening of teaching and research in specific disciplines. Research and teaching in interdisciplinary fields are encouraged. Full-time members of the academic teaching staff may be appointed as a Tory Chair.
Deadline: As per date advertised.

McCalla Professorship(UAPPOL)

Description: The McCalla Professors are outstanding academics who have made (and continue to make) significant contributions to the integration of teaching and research, and educational leadership. The McCalla Professorship also provides recipients with a venue for further educational leadership through the McCalla Professor Group.
Value:  Funds in the amount of $20,000 (total) will be available for approved projects and activities.
First working day of February - Submissions from small Faculties 
First working day of March - Recommendations from large Faculties

University Cup (UAPPOL)

Description: The University Cup at the University of Alberta was created to recognize contributions to scholarly research, teaching and service to the community and University and by this recognition to provide incentive, encouragement and guidance for others to significantly contribute to their fields. Any full-time member of the academic teaching staff with 20 years of service as a faculty member in a university community and at least 10 years of service as a faculty member at the University of Alberta may apply.
Value: $5,000;  Replica of the University Cup and name engraved on base of original cup.
Deadline: First working day of May.

Vargo Teaching Chair (UAPPOL)

Description: Vargo Teaching Chairs at the University of Alberta have been created to foster excellence in teaching at the University. This program is committed to support individuals demonstrating innovative and creative teaching methods which enhance learning by undergraduate and graduate students. Full-time members of the academic teaching staff may be appointed as a Vargo Chair.
Value: $20,000/annum for approved research and teaching initiatives.
Deadline: First working day of May (as vacancies arise).

For a complete list of academic awards and recipients visit Use the search tool or navigate to the award you are interested in. For discipline specific awards select the appropriate field of study and determine which award(s) are applicable.