Centre for Teaching and Learning

McCalla Professorships

McCalla Professorships 2017-2018

The McCalla Professorships, named after the first Dean of the Faculty of Graduate Studies and Research, Arthur Gilbert McCalla, provide faculty members with an opportunity to explore and implement strategies integrating their research and teaching. Recipients, nominated by their Faculty, are outstanding academics who have made significant contributions to their field of research, teaching and learning. The awards provide funding for research and teaching initiatives. These awards are tenable at the University of Alberta.

A. G. McCalla was Dean of the Faculty of Graduate Studies from 1957 - 1971.  Pictured above circa 1970.


McCalla Professorships - Small Faculties
For information about application procedures see:  
      McCalla Professorship Application and Selection Procedure (UAPPOL)

The application deadline for Small Faculties is the first working day of December.


McCalla Professorships - Large Faculties
Large Faculties are responsible for their own adjudication processes.  For faculty-specific application procedures and deadlines please visit their website or contact:  

Large Faculties are to submit recommendations to the Strategic Initiatives Manager, Centre for Teaching and Learning, 5-02 Cameron, no later than the last working day in January.