2017 Teaching Award Recipients

2017 Award Announcement(The Quad [May, 2017])

Announcing the 2017 University of Alberta Awards for Teaching Excellence

Please join me in congratulating this year's recipients on their outstanding contributions to student learning and the advancement of the teaching enterprise at the University of Alberta. Each of them is being celebrated for creating challenging and successful learning experiences for students that advance knowledge, inspire engaged citizenship, and promote the public good.

It is my pleasure to announce the recipients for 2017:

Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching
• Darren DeLorey (Faculty of Physical Education and Recreation)

Provost's Award for Early Achievement of Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching
• Brandon Alakas (Augustana Campus)
• Douglas Gleddie (Faculty of Education)

Rutherford Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching
• Odile Cisneros (Faculty of Arts)
• Vijay Daniels (Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry)
• Catherine Kellogg (Faculty of Arts)

Teaching Unit Award
• Comprehensive Care Delivery Teaching Group (Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry)
• Trudy AuCoin
• Jack Margolus
• Darrell Demchuk
• Ivano Ongaro
• Loretta Hursin
• David Tsujikawa
• Edward Krause
• Byron Wong

William Hardy Alexander Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching
• Martin Davies (Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry)
• Sean Graves (Faculty of Science)
• Lucinda Rasmussen (Faculty of Arts)

Special thanks to each of the candidates who submitted an application for this competition, and to everyone who assisted them in the process - the nominators, contributors (students, colleagues, alumni, and external peer evaluators), and administrative staff. Thanks also to the members of the GFC University Teaching Awards Committee (UTAC) for their detailed review of this year's submissions. Your time and commitment to fostering and championing distinction and demonstrated excellence in teaching at the U of A are truly appreciated.

Congratulations again to this year's honourees! Please join me in celebrating their achievements at the Celebrate! Teaching.Learning.Research event on September 28, 2017.

Steven Dew
Provost and Vice-President (Academic)

If you would like to recognize an outstanding teacher, please visit the CTL website for more information on all of the teaching awards: https://www.ualberta.ca/centre-for-teaching-and-learning/awards.

This year's recipients were announced at the UTAC Teaching Awards Reception held on May 15th.

For a complete list of academic awards and recipients visit ualberta.ca/academicawards. Use the search tool or navigate to the award you are interested in. For discipline specific awards select the appropriate field of study and determine which award(s) are applicable then click search. Click on "Show award recipients..." to view the list of past recipients of that award.