2018 Teaching Award Recipients

2018 Award Announcement(The Quad [May, 2018])

Announcing the 2018 University of Alberta Awards for Teaching Excellence

On behalf of the GFC University Teaching Awards Committee (UTAC) selection committee, I am very pleased to announce the 2018 Awards for Teaching Excellence recipients. They are being recognized for their contributions in creating an outstanding learning experience for our students.

Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching
• Catherine Adams (Faculty of Education)
• Valentina Galvani (Faculty of Arts)
• Leonard Ratzlaff (Faculty of Arts)

Provost's Award for Early Achievement of Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching
• Carlos Cruz-Noguez (Faculty of Engineering)
• Natalie Van Deusen (Faculty of Arts)

Rutherford Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching
• Vincent Bouchard (Faculty of Science)
• Jana Grekul (Faculty of Arts)
• Ashwin Iyer (Faculty of Engineering)
• Angela Schroeder (Faculty of Arts)

Teaching Unit Award
• Mountain Studies Interdisciplinary Team
• Zac Robinson, Craig Steinback, Jill Cameron (Faculty of Kinesiology, Sport and Recreation)
• David Hik, Martin Sharp, Laura Redmond (Faculty of Science)
• Cyril Shokoples Matt Peter (Community Members)

William Hardy Alexander Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching
• René Belland (Faculty of Agricultural, Life and Environmental Sciences)
• Laura Schechter (Faculty of Arts)
• David Vergote (Campus Saint-Jean)

Special thanks to each of the candidates who submitted an application for this competition, and to everyone who assisted them in the process. Your time and commitment to creating a challenging and successful learning environment that advances knowledge, inspires engaged citizenship, and promotes the public good are truly appreciated. Thanks also to the members of the GFC University Teaching Awards Committee (UTAC) for their thorough review of this year's submissions.

Congratulations to all on this well-deserved honour! The recipients of this year's teaching awards will be recognized at the Celebrate! Teaching. Learning. Research event in the Fall.

Steven Dew
Provost and Vice-President (Academic)

If you would like to recognize an outstanding teacher, please visit the CTL website for more information on all of the teaching awards: https://www.ualberta.ca/centre-for-teaching-and-learning/awards.

For a complete list of academic awards and recipients visit ualberta.ca/academicawards. Use the search tool or navigate to the award you are interested in. For discipline specific awards select the appropriate field of study and determine which award(s) are applicable then click search. Click on "Show award recipients..." to view the list of past recipients of that award.