2019 Teaching Award Recipients

2019 Award Announcement (The Quad [April, 2019])

Announcing the 2019 University of Alberta Awards for Teaching Excellence

On behalf of the GFC University Teaching Awards Committee, it gives me great pleasure to announce our 2019 Teaching Excellence Awards recipients.

Each year, the University of Alberta celebrates these awards as a way of publicly recognizing outstanding teaching. The 2019 recipients have all had an incredible positive impact on their students and colleagues. I am proud to recognize their many contributions to an outstanding learning experience at the U of A - as well as the creative, innovative, and effective teaching methods they bring to our community.

Congratulations to all of the recipients:

Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching
• Alexandra Fidyk (Faculty of Education)
• Diane Kunyk (Faculty of Nursing)

Provost's Award for Early Achievement of Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching
• Hao Liang (Faculty of Engineering)
• Anna Lund (Faculty of Law)

Rutherford Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching
• Greg Anderson (Faculty of Arts)
• Judy Davidson (Faculty of Kinesiology, Sport, and Recreation)
• Michael Dyck (Faculty of Agricultural, Life and Environmental Sciences)
• Neil Haave (Augustana Faculty)
• David Kennedy (Faculty of Arts)

Teaching Unit Award
• U of A Range Team Instructors (Faculty of Agricultural, Life and Environmental Sciences)

William Hardy Alexander Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching
• Alexander Gainer (Faculty of Arts)
• Rachel Prusko (Faculty of Arts)

The recipients of the 2019 Teach Excellence Awards will be recognized at our annual Celebrate! Teaching. Learning. Research event in the Fall.

I would also like to thank the members of the GFC University Teaching Awards Committee for their thorough review of this year's submissions.

Once again, congratulations to our 2019 recipients on this well-deserved honour.

Steven Dew
Provost and Vice-President (Academic)

If you would like to recognize an outstanding teacher, please visit the CTL website for more information on all of the teaching awards: https://www.ualberta.ca/centre-for-teaching-and-learning/awards.

For a complete list of academic awards and recipients visit ualberta.ca/academicawards. Use the search tool or navigate to the award you are interested in. For discipline specific awards select the appropriate field of study and determine which award(s) are applicable then click search. Click on "Show award recipients..." to view the list of past recipients of that award.