Prof John Rogers

D.B. Robinson Distinguished Speaker Series 2012-2013
— ICI Distinguished Lecture PART 2

Materials Science and Applications of Arrays of Semiconducting Single Walled Carbon Nanotubes


High mobilities and other attractive features of single-walled carbon nanotubes (SWNTs), create interest in their use in high speed (i.e. radio frequency) or unusual (i.e. flexible, stretchable) forms of electronics. Growth strategies that use chemical vapor deposition onto crystalline quartz substrates yield nearly perfectly linear, perfectly aligned, horizontal arrays of individual SWNTs, ideally suited for these sorts of applications. This talk describes our research in this area, and highlights some strategies for achieving high density arrays of purely semiconducting SWNTs, and properties of devices formed with them.


Professor John A. Rogers obtained BA and BS degrees in chemistry and in physics from the University of Texas, Austin, in 1989. From MIT, he received SM degrees in physics and in chemistry in 1992 and the PhD degree in physical chemistry in 1995. From 1995 to 1997, Rogers was a Junior Fellow in the Harvard University Society of Fellows. He joined Bell Laboratories as a Member of Technical Staff in the Condensed Matter Physics Research Department in 1997, and served as Director of this department from the end of 2000 to 2002. He is now the Lee J. Flory-Founder Chair in Engineering at University of Illinois at Urbana/Champaign with a primary appointment in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering.

Rogers’ research includes fundamental and applied aspects of materials and patterning techniques for unusual electronic and photonic devices, with an emphasis on bio-integrated and bio-inspired systems. He has published more than 300 papers and is inventor on more than 80 patents, more than 50 of which are licensed or in active use. Rogers is a Fellow of the IEEE, APS, MRS and AAAS, and he is a member of the National Academy of Engineering. His research has been recognized with many awards, including a MacArthur Fellowship in 2009 and the Lemelson-MIT Prize in 2011.

Dr. John Rogers

Lee J. Flory Founder Chair in Engineering Innovation
Professor of Materials Science and Engineering
Professor of Chemistry
University of Illinois, USA

Date and time:

(Thursday) October 4, 2012 at 3:30pm


Engineering Teaching and Learning Complex (ETLC) 1-001