Chemical and Materials Engineering

Faculty & Staff

The Department of Chemical and Materials Engineering is home to more than 60 academic and 35 office and technical support staff.
  • Office Support Staff

    Department Fax: 780.492.2881

    Student Services

    Engineering Student Services Faculty of Engineering University of Alberta

    2-300 Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
    780-492-3320
    Email: enggui@ualberta.ca
    Website: uab.ca/engghelp

    Lily Laser
    Graduate Administrative Assistant
    12-227 Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
    780-492-1823 
    lily.laser@ualberta.ca

    Mia Law
    Graduate Administrative Assistant
    12-227 Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering 
    780-492-8423 
    chemmat@ualberta.ca

    Payroll & Accounting

    CME HR: cmehr@ualberta.ca
    CME Finance: cmebkpr@ualberta.ca

    Administration

    Amy Chow
    Reception & Graduate Programs Assistant
    Reception Area, 12-203 Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
    780-492-3321
    achow1@ualberta.ca

    Marcy Doyle
    Administrative Assistant
    Reception Area, 12-203 Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
    780-492-3321
    doyle1@ualberta.ca

    Marion Pritchard
    Office Assistant 
    Reception Area, 12-203 Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering 
    780-492-3321 
    marion.pritchard@ualberta.ca

  • Technical Support Staff

    CME Shop

    Boddez, Walter
    Instrument Shop Supervisor 
    CME 2 - 125 & 2 - 129
    587.985.3253 
    E-mail

    Bicknell, Clark
    Welder/Fabricator Technician
    B-53 South Academic Building (SAB)
    780.492.3393
    E-mail

    Dean, Les
    Electronics Technician
    CME 2 - 125 & 2 - 129
    587.985.3253
    E-mail

    Green, Herb
    Machinist Technician
    B-53 South Academic Building (SAB)
    780.492.3393 
    E-mail

    Mckinnon, James
    Machinist Technician 
    B-53 South Academic Building (SAB)
    780.492.3393
    E-mail

    Parlin, Dave
    Machinist Technician
    B-53 South Academic Building (SAB)
    780.492.3393
    E-mail

    Smith, Robert (Bob)
    Machinist Technician
    B-53 South Academic Building (SAB)
    780.492.3393
    E-mail

    Computer Support

    Gibeau, Jack P.
    IT Support - Faculty of Engineering
    1-300 Donadeo ICE Building
    780.492.2910
    E-mail

    Technical Staff

    Brandt, Lisa (On leave)
    Technician (IOSI)
    ICE 12-388 
    780.492.4196
    E-mail

    Cao, Mingli
    Mineral Processing Lab Instructor/Coordinator
    ICE 12-349
    780.492.0010
    E-mail

    Kucharski, Cezary
    Lab Technician (Uludag)
    RTF
    780.492.4645
    E-mail

    Lee, Elizabeth
    Metallographic Lab Instructor/Coordinator
    ICE 12-349
    780.492.0010
    E-mail

    Mackinnon, Brittany
    Research Assistant (IOSI)
    ICE 12-388
    780.492.7993
    E-mail

    Merali, Shiraz
    Technician 
    CME 6-145
    780.492.2724 
    E-mail

    Ru, Jie
    Instrument Analysis Technician
    CME 280D
    780.248.1026 
    E-mail

    Skwarok, James
    Technologist 
    CME 166B
    780.492.9285 
    E-mail

    Wang, Kaipeng
    Technician (IOSI)
    12-388
    780.492.4196
    E-mail

    Yang, Shaofeng
    Safety Technician
    ICE 12-348
    780.983.2799
    E-mail

Faculty & Academic Staff

Filter by name
Area:

Name and Title

Department(s)

Area(s)

Contact

Afacan, Artin
Faculty Services Officer
Chemical and Materials Engineering 780-492-5025
artin.afacan@ualberta.ca
Burrell, Robert
Professor
Biomedical Engineering, Chemical and Materials Engineering Biomedical Engineering And Regenerative Medicine, Biomedical Engineering 780-492-4972
robert.burrell@ualberta.ca
Cadien, Ken
Professor, Chair of the Department of Chemical and Materials Engineering, Nano-Materials Program Advisor, Canada Research Chair in Nanofabrication, Alberta Ingenuity Scholar in Nanofabrication
Chemical and Materials Engineering Nanotechnology, Nanomaterials And Nanofabrication, Surface Science And Engineering, Materials 780-492-7380
cme.chair@ualberta.ca
Chen, Weixing
Professor
Chemical and Materials Engineering Materials 780-492-7706
weixing.chen@ualberta.ca
Choi, Hyo-Jick
Assistant Professor
Chemical and Materials Engineering Biomedical Engineering, Biochemical Engineering, Materials 780-248-1666
hyojick@ualberta.ca
Choi, Phillip YK
Professor
Chemical and Materials Engineering Materials 780-492-9018
phillip.choi@ualberta.ca
Chung, Hyun-Joong
Associate Professor
Chemical and Materials Engineering Materials, Biomedical Engineering, Biochemical Engineering 780-492-4790
chung.hj13@ualberta.ca
Cocchio, John
Industrial Professor, Engineering Safety and Risk Management
Chemical and Materials Engineering, School of Engineering Safety and Risk Management Reliability Engineering - Standards - Safety Engineering 780-248-1586
cocchio@ualberta.ca
de Klerk, Arno
Professor, Industrial Research Chair
Chemical and Materials Engineering Oil Sands And Energy 780-248-1903
deklerk@ualberta.ca
Djokic, Stojan
Adjunct Professor
Chemical and Materials Engineering Materials 780-248-1447
sdjokic@ualberta.ca
Dubljevic, Stevan
Associate Professor
Chemical and Materials Engineering Process Control, Materials, Biomedical Engineering 780-248-1596
stevan.dubljevic@ualberta.ca
Elias, Anastasia
Associate Professor
Chemical and Materials Engineering Nanotechnology, Materials Characterization And Processing 780-248-1589
aelias@ualberta.ca
Elliott, Janet
Professor & CRC Thermodynamics
Chemical and Materials Engineering Surface Science And Engineering, Biomedical Engineering, Thermodynamics 780-492-7963
janet.elliott@ualberta.ca
Etsell, Thomas H
Professor
Chemical and Materials Engineering Materials 780-492-5594
tom.etsell@ualberta.ca
Forbes, Fraser
Dean of Engineering & Professor
Chemical and Materials Engineering 780-492-0873
fraser.forbes@ualberta.ca
Gupta, Rajender
Professor
Chemical and Materials Engineering Energy And Environment 780-492-6861
rajender.gupta@ualberta.ca
Hayes, Robert E
Associate Chair - Research, Professor
Chemical and Materials Engineering Reaction And Catalysis 780-492-3571
bob.hayes@ualberta.ca
Henein, Hani
Professor
Chemical and Materials Engineering Materials 780-492-7304
hani.henein@ualberta.ca
Huang, Biao
Professor, Industrial Research Chair
Chemical and Materials Engineering Process Control, Control Systems 780-492-9016
biao.huang@ualberta.ca
Ivey, Douglas
Professor
Chemical and Materials Engineering Materials 780-492-2957
doug.ivey@ualberta.ca
Jamieson, Marnie
Industrial Professor in Chemical Process Design
Chemical and Materials Engineering Design And Manufacturing, Process Control
mvjamies@ualberta.ca
Kresta, Suzanne
Professor
Chemical and Materials Engineering 780-492-9221
suzanne.kresta@ualberta.ca
Lefsrud, Lianne
Assistant Professor
Chemical and Materials Engineering, School of Engineering Safety and Risk Management Reliability Engineering - Standards - Safety Engineering 780-492-8812
lefsrud@ualberta.ca
Li, Dongyang
Professor
Chemical and Materials Engineering Surface Science And Engineering, Materials, Biochemical Engineering 780-492-6750
dongyang.li@ualberta.ca
Li, Leijun
Professor
Chemical and Materials Engineering Materials 780-492-3472
leijun@ualberta.ca
Li, Zukui
Assistant Professor
Chemical and Materials Engineering Process Control 780-492-1107
zukui@ualberta.ca
Liu, Jinfeng
Associate Professor
Chemical and Materials Engineering Process Control, Control Systems 780-492-1317
jinfeng@ualberta.ca
Liu, Qi
Professor | Scientific Director of IOSI | Materials Engineering Program Advisor | Ron Nolan/Hatch Professor of Sustainable Energy and Mineral Process Technologies
Chemical and Materials Engineering Oil Sands And Energy 780-492-8628
qi.liu@ualberta.ca
Liu, Qingxia (Chad)
Professor, Director for the Canadian Centre for Clean Coal/Carbon and Mineral Processing Technologies (C5MPT)
Chemical and Materials Engineering Oil Sands And Energy, Construction 780-492-1119
qingxia.liu@ualberta.ca
Liu, Jing
Assistant Professor
Chemical and Materials Engineering Corrosion And Wear, Nanomaterials And Nanofabrication 780-492-8754
jing.liu.arrow@ualberta.ca
Luo, Jingli
Professor
Chemical and Materials Engineering Reaction And Catalysis, Surface Science And Engineering, Materials 780-492-2232
jingli.luo@ualberta.ca
McCaffrey, William
Professor, Associate Chair - Research
Chemical and Materials Engineering Reaction And Catalysis, Biochemical Engineering, Oil Sands And Energy 780-492-6733
william.mccaffrey@ualberta.ca
Mendez, Patricio
Associate Professor
Chemical and Materials Engineering Materials, Welding And Metallurgy 780-248-1587
pmendez@ualberta.ca
Mmbaga, Joe
Research Associate
Chemical and Materials Engineering
joe.mmbaga@ualberta.ca
Mushrif, Samir H.
Associate Professor
Chemical and Materials Engineering Mathematical And Molecular Modeling, Reaction And Catalysis, Biochemical Engineering 780-492-4872
mushrif@ualberta.ca
Narain, Ravin
Professor
Chemical and Materials Engineering Biomaterials And Tissue Engineering, Nanotechnology 780-492-1736
narain@ualberta.ca
Nazemifard, Neda
Associate Professor
Chemical and Materials Engineering Microsystems And Nanodevices
neda.nazemifard@ualberta.ca
Nikrityuk, Petr
Professor
Chemical and Materials Engineering Reaction And Catalysis, Materials 780-492-5267
nikrityu@ualberta.ca
Nychka, John A.
Professor, Vice-Provost (Learning Initiatives)
Chemical and Materials Engineering Materials Characterization And Processing, Materials 780-492-4796
jnychka@ualberta.ca
Prasad, Vinay
Professor, Associate Chair - Graduate Program
Chemical and Materials Engineering Process Control, Reaction And Catalysis 780-248-1595
vprasad@ualberta.ca
Rajendran, Arvind
Professor
Chemical and Materials Engineering 780-492-3912
arvind.rajendran@ualberta.ca
Sanders, Sean
Professor
Chemical and Materials Engineering 780-492-0981
sean.sanders@ualberta.ca
Sauvageau, Dominic
Associate Professor
Chemical and Materials Engineering 780-492-8092
dominic.sauvageau@ualberta.ca
Semagina, Natalia
Professor
Chemical and Materials Engineering Reaction And Catalysis 780-492-2293
semagina@ualberta.ca
Sharp, David
Faculty Services Officer
Chemical and Materials Engineering 780-492-3392
dave.sharp@ualberta.ca
Shaw, John M.
Professor & NSERC/AERI IRC
Chemical and Materials Engineering Petroleum, Thermodynamics 780-492-8236
jmshaw@ualberta.ca
Soares, Joao
Professor
Chemical and Materials Engineering Reaction And Catalysis 780-492-2858
jsoares@ualberta.ca
Uludag, Hasan
Associate Professor
Chemical and Materials Engineering Biomedical Engineering 780-492-0344
hasan.uludag@ualberta.ca
Unsworth, Larry
Associate Professor
Chemical and Materials Engineering 780-492-6020
larry.unsworth@ualberta.ca
Wang, Xiaolei
Assistant Professor
Chemical and Materials Engineering 780-492-7164
xiaolei.wang@ualberta.ca
White, Lisa
Industrial Professor
Chemical and Materials Engineering, School of Engineering Safety and Risk Management Environmental Engineering And Science 780-492-8614
lisa.white@ualberta.ca
Winkel, Gordon
Chair and Industrial Professor of Engineering Safety and Risk Management
Chemical and Materials Engineering, School of Engineering Safety and Risk Management Reliability Engineering - Standards - Safety Engineering 780-492-6931
gord.winkel@ualberta.ca
Wiskel, J Barry
Full Lecturer
Chemical and Materials Engineering 780-492-6178
bwiskel@ualberta.ca
Xu, Zhenghe
Professor
Chemical and Materials Engineering Surface Science And Engineering, Materials
zhenghe.xu@ualberta.ca
Yeung, Tony
Professor, Associate Chair - Undergraduate
Chemical and Materials Engineering Surface Science And Engineering 780-492-3669
tony.yeung@ualberta.ca
Zeng, Hongbo
Professor, Canada Research Chair Tier (I)
Chemical and Materials Engineering Nanotechnology, Fluid Dynamics, Oil Sands And Energy, Biomedical Engineering 780-492-1044
hongbo.zeng@ualberta.ca
Zhang, Hao
Professor
Chemical and Materials Engineering Materials 780-492-8340
hao.zhang@ualberta.ca
Zhang, Xuehua
Professor
Chemical and Materials Engineering Surface Science And Engineering, Materials
xuehua1@ualberta.ca