Winter 2014

Mita Dasog wins CSC Award

Mita Dasog (Veinot Group) has won the CSC Inorganic Division Award for Graduate Work in Inorganic Chemistry. Along with a trip to present her findings in Vancouver, Mita will receive a cheque for $500 and a framed scroll. Congratulations, Mita!

2014 ISSS Awards

The 2014 ISSS Awards were presented February 6 at the Faculty Club. Shuai Sun (Brown Group) and Katherine Powers (Rivard Group) received the ISSS Award for Excellence in the Teaching Assistants category. Todd Lowary and Christine Brzezowski received awards for the instructors category. Congratulations all!

Paul Lummis wins GSA Award

The Graduate Students' Association has awarded Paul Lummis (Rivard Group) a 2014 Student Teaching Assistant award, one of only seven awarded on campus. Paul is the only Chemistry grad student to win a GSA award this year. Congratulations, Paul!

Congratulations to our 2013 Chemistry staff award recipients!

Three awards for three outstanding Chemistry staff

Profile: Hayley Wan, 2013 Chemistry Outstanding Teaching Support Award Winner

How Hayley celebrated her win and what she wants to tell those in her lab classes
Further information on this award and other Chemistry Staff awards can be found here.

You Be the Chemist Challenge

Roy Jensen and Qelsey Johnson demonstrate
a reaction to event participants


Margaret-Ann Armour gives intro remarks to event participants

The Canadian Association of Chemical Distributors (CACD) and the You Be The Chemist (YBTC) Canada in partnership with Imperial Oil successfully conducted the first Western Canada Regional You Be The Chemist Challenge in Edmonton on November 12, 2013.

Gilead Alberta Graduate Award of Excellence in Organic Chemistry

[From left to right: Dr. Robin Nicol (Gilead Alberta), Christopher Lohans, Dr. Zhongxin Zhou (Gilead Alberta)]

Congratulations to Christopher Lohans (Vederas Group), winner of the 2013 Gilead Alberta Graduate Award of Excellence in Organic Chemistry. This $2500 award is presented annually to a 3rd or 4th year PhD student pursuing studies in the Department of Chemistry in the topic areas of organic, bioorganic or medicinal chemistry, and is granted on the basis of excellence in both course work and research. The Department of Chemistry is grateful to Gilead Alberta for their continuous support of our graduate program.

Best CHEM 502 Presentation in Organic Chemistry

Congratulations to Stephen Cochrane (Vederas Group) for his selection as the recipient of the 2012-2013 Organic Division CHEM 502 Oral Presentation Award.  Stephen was presented the award by Professor West, CHEM 502 Coordinator, Organic Chemistry.

Novartis Pharmaceuticals Canada Inc Graduate Scholarship

Congratulations to Jinyue Ding (Hall Group) on his receipt of the Novartis Pharmaceuticals Canada Inc. Scholarship.  This $1700 scholarship is presented to one graduate student in the Faculty of Science who conducts research in areas related to the pharmaceutical sciences.