Winter 2017

Photo courtesy Anis Fahandej-Sadi

 Welcome to Chemistry!

The Department of Chemistry was pleased to welcome a new Chair in winter 2016: Rik Tykwinski. Also welcome new staff members in 2017: Camille Emdin (Administrative Assistant), Andrew Hillier (Electronics Technician) and Matt Macauley (Assistant Professor).  Retiring in 2016 were Lynne Lechelt and Allan Chilton. Dr. Bundle is planning to completely wrap up by the end of 2017. Best of luck in your future endeavours!

Congratulations to:

  • Dr. Todd Lowary (Professor), who received the 2017 University Cup, a Faculty Excellence Award!
  • Xiaobin Mo, (Hall Group) who has won a Faculty of Science Dissertation Award!
  • Burcin Akgun, (Hall Group) and Patrick Moon (Lundgren Group) who have both won a Gilead Award for Excellence in Organic Chemistry!


The Western Canadian Undergraduate Chemistry Conference (WCUCC 2017) was hosted by the UofA chemistry students on May 3-5, 2017. The conference was highlighted by an ACS on-Campus event featuring American Chemical Society (ACS) editors and keynote talks by our own Jillian Buriak and Robert Campbell.

UofA students excelled at the conference, receiving 10 awards. Congratulations to all participants.

Analytical - oral - 1st prize: Stephanie Schneider (Styler group)
ChemBiol - poster - runner up: Jessica Wickware (Derda group)
Biochem - oral - 1st prize Shubham Banga (Michalak group, Biochemistry)
Biochem - oral - runner up: Abhi Aggarwal (Campbell group)
Organic - poster - 1st prize: Mark Aloisio (Stryker group)
Organic - poster - (tie) runner up: Michael Bell (Lowary group) & Rei Chee (Williams group)
Physical - oral - 1st prize: Maria Matlinska (Michaelis group)
Physical - oral - 2nd prize: Mohamad al-Jabiri (Jaeger group)
Computational - oral - 1st prize: Zhibo Wang (Brown group)
Computational - poster - 1st prize: Cat-Tuong Huynh (Brown group)
Computational - poster - runner up: Xin Wang (Klassen group)

Thanks to our many sponsors, to the student organizing committee led by Cat-Tuong Huynh, and to faculty reps Dr. Sarah Styler and Dr. Florrie Williams for a great event.

 Western Canadian Undergraduate Chemistry Conference (WCUCC 2017)


More Awards:

ISSS Award:
This award celebrates the excellent teaching that goes on in the Faculty of Science. Congratulations, all!

Award winners from Chem:
  Yoram Apelblat
  Chris Brzezowski
  Roy Jensen
  Arthur Mar
  Flo Williams

  Melis Gedik
  Alex Gzyl
  Wenjuan (Jason) Huang
  Dong Zhang