Department of Critical Care

Royal Alexandra Hospital

 

Areas of Research

  • Sepsis
  • Pneumonia
  • Prevention and Treatment of Infection
  • Mechanical Ventilation and weaning
  • Renal failure and Renal Replacement Therapy
  • ICU delirium
  • End of Life & Elderly Care in ICU
  • VTE prevention
  • Subarachnoid Hemorrhage
  • Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI)
  • Organ Donation
  • Post Traumatic Stress Disorder
  • Death after Cardiac Arrest
  • Nutrition
  • Probiotics and C‐difficile diarrhea

Group Personnel


DJ (Jim) Kutsogiannis, MD, MHS, FRCPC

Research Director
CSC 616 Royal Alexandra Hospital
Edmonton, AB  T5H 3V9
Tel: (780) 735-4096  |  Fax: (780) 735-4032
djk3@ualberta.ca


Patrica F Thompson, RN, CCRP

Research and QA Manager
CSC 616 Royal Alexandra Hospital
Edmonton, AB  T5H 3V9
Tel: (780) 735-4096  |  Cell: (780) 554-2187
patrica.thompson@ahs.ca


Tayne Hewer, BSc

Office Administrative Lead, Research Coordinator
CSC 616 Royal Alexandra Hospital
Edmonton, AB  T5H 3V9
Tel: (780) 735-4096  |  Fax: (780) 735-4032
tayne.hewer@ahs.ca


Nadine Grant

Research Assistant
CSC 616 Royal Alexandra Hospital
Edmonton, AB  T5H 3V9
Tel: (780) 735-4096  |  Fax: (780) 735-4032
nadine.grant@ahs.ca


Cathy Alberda, MSc, RD

Nutrition Practice Lead
CSC 670-1 Royal Alexandra Hospital
Edmonton, AB  T5H 3V9
Tel: (780) 735-4439
cathy.alberda@ahs.ca


Mark Joffe, MD, FRCP(C)

Senior Medical Director
CSC 303 Royal Alexandra Hospital
Edmonton, AB  T5H 3V9
Tel: (780) 735-5678  |  Fax: (780) 735-5681
mjoffe@ualberta.ca


Richard Fox, MD, MSc, FRCP(C)

Surgeon, Site Chief, Division of Neurosurgery
CSC 616 Royal Alexandra Hospital
Edmonton, AB  T5H 3V9
Tel: (780) 735-4096  |  Fax: (780) 735-4032
richard.fox@ahs.ca


David Zygun, MD, MSc, FRCPC

Division Director and Professor
2-124 Clinical Sciences Building
Edmonton, AB  T6G 2G3
Tel: (780) 492-8597  |  Fax: (780) 492-1500
zygun@ualberta.ca


Gwynne MacDonald, RN, MN

Clinical Nurse Specialist
4228 Royal Alexandra Hospital
Edmonton, AB  T5H 3V9
Tel: (780) 735-5608
gwynne.macdonald@ahs.ca


Elizabeth Papathanassoglou, PhD, MSc, RN

Associate Professor, Faculty of Nursing
5-262 Edmonton Clinic Health Academy
Edmonton, AB  T6G 1C9
Tel: (780) 492-8597
papathan@ualberta.ca