Department of Critical Care

University of Alberta

Areas of Research

  • Acute Liver Failure, End-Stage Liver Disease and Liver Transplantation
  • Acute Kidney Injury and Renal Replacement Therapy
  • Acute Respiratory Distress Syndrome and Mechanical Ventilation
  • Antimicrobial Use in ICU and Stewardship
  • Critical Care Cardiology
  • Blood Purification in Sepsis and Multi-Organ Failure
  • ICU Operations Management and Capacity Strain
  • Moral Distress, Burnout and Workplace Environment
  • Older, Frail and Vulnerable Patients in Critical Care
  • ICU Discharge Planning
  • Traumatic Brain Injury

Group Personnel


Sean M Bagshaw, MD, MSc, FRCPC

Associate Professor, Director of Critical Care Research
2-124E Clinical Sciences Building
Edmonton, AB  T6G 2G3
Tel: (780) 492-3817  |  Fax: (780) 492-1500
bagshaw@ualberta.ca


Noel Gibney, MB, FRCP(C)

Professor
2-124C Clinical Sciences Building
Edmonton, AB  T6G 2G3
Tel: (780) 492-8597 |  Fax: (780) 492-1500
ngibney@ualberta.ca


Michael Jacka, MD, MSc, MBA

Associate Professor
2-124 Clinical Sciences Building
Edmonton, AB  T6G 2G3
Tel: (780) 492-8597  |  Fax: (780) 492-1500
mjacka@ualberta.ca


Constantine (Dean) Karvellas, MD, FRCPC

Assistant Professor
1-40 Zeidler Ledcore Building
Edmonton, AB
Tel: (780) 492-4390  |  Fax: (780) 492-9873
cjk2@ualberta.ca


Wendy Sligl, MD, MSc, MD, MSc, FRCPC

Associate Clinical Professor
2-124A Clinical Sciences Building
Edmonton, AB  T6G 2G3
Tel: (780) 492-8311  |  Fax: (780) 492-1500
wsligl@ualberta.ca


Sean van Diepen, MD, FRCPC

Assistant Professor
2-124 Clinical Sciences Building
Edmonton, AB  T6G 2G3
Tel: (780) 492-8597  |  Fax: (780) 492-1500
sv9@ualberta.ca


David Zygun, MD, MSc, FRCPC

Department Chair and Professor
2-124G Clinical Sciences Building
Edmonton, AB  T6G 2G3
Tel: (780) 492-8597  |  Fax: (780) 492-1500
zygun@ualberta.ca


Nadia Baig, BSc, CRC

Research Manager

2-124 Clinical Sciences Building
Edmonton, AB  T6G 2G3
Tel: (780) 492-9951  |  Fax: (780) 492-1500
nadia.baig@ahs.ca



Jane Holman

Research Administrative Assistant
2-124 Clinical Sciences Building
Edmonton, AB  T6G 2G3
Tel: (780) 492-3817  |  Fax: (780) 492-1500
jane.holman@ualberta.ca


Dawn Opgenorth, RN

Project Manager
2-124 Clinical Sciences Building
Edmonton, AB  T6G 2G3
Tel: (780) 492-4698  |  Fax: (780) 492-1500
dawno@ualberta.ca


Lorena McCoshen, RPN, RN

Clinical Research Coordinator
2-124 Clinical Sciences Building
Edmonton, AB  T6G 2G3
Tel: (780) 492-9951  |  Fax: (780) 492-1500
lorena.mccoshen@ahs.ca