About Us

The Academic Success Centre is committed to student success. We provide professional academic support and offer a range of programs and services designed to help students accomplish their learning goals at university. We work with learners to strengthen and enhance their academic skills, to tackle challenges in their university learning, and to facilitate specialized supports.

Who We Work With

Undergraduate Students
Throughout your time as an undergraduate student, you will develop of variety of skills. We can support you in developing these skills with a variety of our services tailored for you.

Graduate Students
At every stage of your degree program, you can access a continuum of academic resources designed specifically for you as a graduate student.

Pre-University Students
The start of university is an exciting time — and a bit daunting for many students! We can help you through our orientation activities and workshops throughout your first semester.

Faculty, Instructors, and Advisors
We work with university faculty offices, individual instructors, and undergraduate/graduate advisors to connect students with professional academic support.

Parents
We provide information to parents to support our common goal of student success. You can be a partner in your student’s success by helping to develop their independence and problem-solving skills. 

Our Team

Associate Director, Writing Resources
Stephen Kuntz
skuntz@ualberta.ca

Director, Academic Success Centre
Dr. Mebbie Bell
mebbie.bell@ualberta.ca

Fresh Start Coordinator
Tristan Donald
tristan.donald@ualberta.ca

Graduate Writing Advisor
Dr. Rob Desjardins
rob.desjardins@ualberta.ca

Instructor, Graduate Writing Program
Dr. Kate Pratt
kate.pratt@ualberta.ca

Learning Specialist
Sue Beaufoy
beaufoy@ualberta.ca

Learning Specialist
Maria Kotovych
mk11@ualberta.ca

Learning Specialist
Tracy Preston
tracylor@ualberta.ca

Learning Specialist
Yasir Syed
yasir@ualberta.ca

Program Assistant
Gabriela Mesta Kim
mestakim@ualberta.ca

Senior Learning Specialist
Sharon Stearns
stearns@ualberta.ca

Writing Advisor
Debby Waldman
dwaldman@ualberta.ca