Dr. Barbara Romanowski Publication Award in Sexually Transmitted Infections

Dr. Barbara Romanowski Publication Award in Sexually Transmitted Infections

Award Details

The Dr. Barbara Romanowski research award for sexually transmitted infections (STIs) for students, residents or fellows in the Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry (FoMD) was established in 2021.

Each year, up to two awards of $1,000 will be conferred to the top FoMD trainee student (undergraduate/graduate/medical student), resident or fellow (clinical or postdoctoral) published papers in the field of STI.

The award is limited to the following topics in the field of sexually transmitted infection:

  • chlamydia
  • genital herpes simplex virus (HSV)
  • gonorrhea
  • hepatitis B virus (HBV)
  • human papilloma virus (HPV)
  • syphilis
  • trichomoniasis

One award will be given to each of the categories of basic research and clinical/public health, though there need not be an award given in a category if no paper is deemed to meet the standard.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Applicant must be first author.
  • In the case of equal first authors where both authors are trainees in FoMD, the prize will be divided equally between the applicants.
  • The applicant must be a trainee in the FoMD (or must have completed training in FoMD) and research must be completed while the applicant was registered as a trainee.
  • Articles must be original research (includes systematic reviews) published in a peer-reviewed journal or posted online early ahead of print.
  • The research must have been completed under the supervision of a faculty member in the FoMD.
  • Applicants must have published the research article during the past 12 months preceding the date of the award decision.
  • Applicants may submit more than one article as long as all conditions described above are met for each article.
  • Recipients are eligible to receive only one award within 12 months.
  • The award will not be conferred more than once to an individual within the last 3 years.


Academic and clinical faculty within the FoMD may submit nominations. A letter of support from a faculty member as well as a copy of the nominated paper are required for the nomination. The Research Committee in the Division of Infectious Diseases, Department of Medicine, will adjudicate submissions and select the recipient. The award will be presented annually at Infectious Diseases Rounds.

Nominations can be submitted to the Division of Infectious Diseases at idea@ualberta.ca.

Deadline: May 30, 2024

About Dr. Romanowski

Read more about Dr. Barbara Romanowski.