Dr. Jutta Preiksaitis Publication Award for Infections in Immunocompromised Hosts

Dr. Jutta Preiksaitis Publication Award for Infections in Immunocompromised Hosts

Award Details

The Dr. Jutta Preiksaitis Publication Award for Infections in Immunocompromised Hosts for students, residents or fellows in Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry (FoMD) was established in 2024.

One award of $1,000 will be conferred to the top FoMD trainee (undergraduate, graduate, or medical student; resident; or Transplant ID clinical or postdoctoral fellow) with published papers in the field of Infections in Immunocompromised Hosts with a primary preference for the following types of research studies.

  • For clinical research, populations studied may include:
    • adult or pediatric solid organ and/or hematopoietic stem cell transplant recipients/cellular therapy patients or their donors;
    • patients with primary immunodeficiency;
    • patients receiving exogenous immunosuppression. Infections, infection prevention and control, antimicrobial stewardship or public health may be the focus of the study.
  • Basic science studies must involve patient samples collected from the populations noted above. 

Eligibility Criteria

  • Applicant must be the first author.
  • In the case of equal first authors, where both authors are trainees in FoMD, the prize will be divided equally between the applicants.
  • The applicant must be a trainee in the FoMD (or must have completed training in FoMD) and research must be completed while the applicant was registered as a trainee.
  • Articles must be original research (including systematic reviews) published in a peer-reviewed journal or posted online early ahead of print.
  • The research must have been completed under the supervision of a faculty member in the FoMD.
  • Applicants must have published the research article during the past 12 months preceding the date of the award decision.
  • Applicants may submit more than one article as long as all conditions described above are met for each article.
  • Recipients are eligible to receive only one award within 12 months.


Academic faculty, clinical faculty, and trainees within the FoMD may submit nominations. A letter of support from a faculty member and a copy of the nominated paper are required for the nomination. The Research Office in the Department of Medicine, in coordination with the
Divisional Director of Infectious Diseases, will adjudicate submissions and select the recipient. The award will be presented annually at the Infectious Diseases Rounds.

Nominations can be submitted to the Division of Infectious Diseases at idea@ualberta.ca.

Deadline: June 5, 2024