Department of Medicine

Division of Nephrology

Nephrology concerns the diagnosis and treatment of kidney diseases, including electrolyte disturbances and hypertension, and the care of those requiring renal replacement therapy, including dialysis and renal transplant patients. Many diseases affecting the kidney are systemic disorders not limited to the organ itself, and may require special treatment. Patients are referred to nephrology specialists for various reasons, such as acute renal failure, chronic kidney disease, hematuria, proteinuria, kidney stones, hypertension, and disorders of acid/base or electrolytes.

The Division of Nephrology, in conjunction with the Northern Alberta Renal Program (NARP), is responsible for the largest renal failure program administered by any single centre in Canada.  In 2011 the Division Director, Kailash Jindal, M.D worked to administer a large and complex clinical and academic program. Division members located at the Royal Alexandra Hospital and at the Grey Nuns Hospital largely regulate their own clinical/professional affairs, under the NARP umbrella.