Career Development Awards

The Department of Medicine has several career development awards for individuals and teams. Winners are recognized at the Department of Medicine's Annual Celebration Dinner.

The Terms of Reference and Nomination Form for each award can be accessed below.

Annual Submission Deadline: March 15th* at 5:00 PM MST

*If March 15th falls on a weekend, the submission deadline will be the next business day.

Submission Process

All submissions are completed online, using the Nomination Form links provided.

Inquiries can be directed to:

Gloria Jichita
Academic Development Officer

13-103 Clinical Sciences Building
Phone: 780-492-2072
Fax: 780-248-1637

Thomas J Marrie Mentorship Award

The Department of Medicine wishes to recognize a faculty member who best exemplifies the following criteria (qualities of a Mentor):

  1. A role model of personal and professional integrity.
  2. A generous and nurturing guide who inspires, supports and coaches personal and
    professional growth.
  3. An individual committed to life-long learning and sharing of new knowledge.
  4. A leader, defining the vision towards which faculty members should aim, challenging the
    mentee to excel.
  5. An individual who contributes to career development in the Department either via
    personal mentorship, format or program development or research in the realm of
    faculty development.

Past recipients of Thomas J Marrie Mentorship Award

  • 2019/2020: Steven Katz
  • 2018/2019: Zaeem Siddiqui
  • 2017/2018: Michelle Graham / Peter Senior
  • 2016/2017: Branko Braam / Dan Sadowski
  • 2015/2016: Joseph Brandwein
  • 2014/2015: N/A
  • 2013/2014: Raj Padwal
  • 2012/2013: Richard Fedorak
  • 2011/2012: Allan Murray
  • 2010/2011: Maher Saqqur
  • 2009/2010: Marcello Tonelli
  • 2008/2009: Karen Madsen
  • 2007/2008: Stephen Aaron
  • 2006/2007: Tom Feasby
  • 2005/2006: Anthony (Tony) Russell
  • 2004/2005: Robert Bear

Past recipients of Excellence in Mentoring Award

  • 2003/2004: Dean Befus
  • 2002/2003: Gordon Francis
  • 2001/2002: Jody Ginsberg
  • 2000/2001: Richard (Dick) Jones
  • 1999/2000: Paul Armstrong

Jonathan B Meddings Clinical Innovation Award

The Department of Medicine wishes to recognize clinical innovations that impact patient care in a positive and meaningful way. 

Scholarly clinical activity to be recognized could include the discovery of new diagnostic or therapeutic agents, the development of new methods of drug or patient care delivery, new practice procedures or programs, new data bases, enhancements of patient safety, patient education and/or relevant quality improvements to care or processes.

The end result of the contribution would be to provide enhanced patient care and/or the ability to better assess the impact of clinical interventions and thus begin the process of examining ways by which it might be done better. That is, innovations assisting in the evaluation of clinical activity would also be eligible for recognition.

Past Recipients

  • 2019/2020: Mohammed Osman
  • 2018/2019: Multidisciplinary Insterstitial Lung Disease Clinic
  • 2017/2018: Multidisciplinary Neuromuscular Clinic
  • 2016/2017: KEC/UAH Diabetes Team
  • 2015/2016: N/A
  • 2014/2015: Shelley Johannsson
  • 2013/2014: N/A
  • 2012/2013: Dina Kao
  • 2011/2012: Arya Sharma
  • 2010/2011: Kalaish Jindal / Peter Senior
  • 2009/2010: Vince Bain / Puneeta Tandon
  • 2008/2009: Nizam Ahmed
  • 2007/2008: Bruce Ritchie

Cooperation, Collaboration and Teamwork Award

Cooperation, collaboration and teamwork (CCT) are fundamental to the Department optimally achieving its multiple missions relating to education, research, clinical service and administration.

Each Department member’s unique contribution to the global operations of the Department is appreciated and, within the context of a group, may determine the success of an effort when the collective contributions, the whole, become greater than the sum of the parts.

The Department wishes to recognize those groups who have been successful in creating environments where the professional characteristics of CCT are effective for teaching, research, patient care and/or administration and are visible to others, thus representing operational role models in the academic environment and/or the larger community.

Past Recipients

  • 2019/2020: University of Alberta / Alberta Health Services Tuberculosis Consilium
  • 2018/2019: Edmonton Zone Medicine Quality Control Council / Strategic Clinical Improvement Committee
  • 2017/2018: Edmonton Cardiac Arrhythmia Trials Group
  • 2016/2017: Maternal Heart Health Clinic
  • 2015/2016: Adult Cystic Fibrosis Team
  • 2014/2015: Cardio-Oncology Team
  • 2013/2014: N/A
  • 2012/2014: Provincial Infection Prevention and Control Team
  • 2011/2012: Glenrose Senior's Continence Clinic
  • 2010/2009: Hepatitis Support Program
  • 2009/2010: Lung Transplant Team (UAH)
  • 2008/2009: Obstetric Medicine Team
  • 2007/2008: Rheumatology Pharmocosurveillance Team
  • 2006/2007: N/A

J. Charles "Chuck" Morrison Award

Every year the Department of Medicine invites nominations for the J. Charles "Chuck" Morrison Award for Administrative Staff.

This annual award was named in honour of the decades of service Chuck Morrison provided to the Department as Director of Administrative Services. It is designed to recognize the significant contributions office support staff make to the Department of Medicine.

The award is given to a member of the administrative staff (exclusive of senior management) who has made a significant contribution to the Department.

The winner of the J. Charles "Chuck" Morrison Award will be an individual who consistently demonstrates the following:

  • Contributing to a positive culture within the Department of Medicine
  • Bringing the best of themselves to work on a regular basis
  • Being a good ambassador for the Department of Medicine
  • Exceptional service to staff / co-workers / patients
  • An innovative and enthusiastic approach to work
  • Exceptional teamwork

Past Recipients

  • 2020: Ashley Small
  • 2019: Svetlana Jackson and Kelly McDougall
  • 2018: Carrie Hlady
  • 2017: Irene Mickel
  • 2016: Cynthia Marie Krys
  • 2015: Christine Rimell
  • 2014: Sheila Haggerty
  • 2013: Nancy Hernandez
  • 2012: Patrice Melnyk
  • 2011: Dorothy Miko
  • 2010: Suzanne Porier
  • 2009: Dawn Racz