Department of Medicine

The E. Garner King Memorial Lectures

The 25th Annual E. Garner King Memorial Lecture

Thursday, November 9, 2017

Bernard Snell Hall

4:00PM - 5:00PM
Light refreshments to follow

Dr. Josephine Briggs
Incoming Editor in Chief
Journal of the American Society of Nephrology

"Facts and Uncertainties: Science and the Art of Medicine"


Dr. Briggs, an accomplished researcher and physician, was named Director of the National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH) on January 24, 2008. In addition to leading NCCIH, she has served as the Interim Director of the NIH Precision Medicine Initiative Cohort Program as well as Acting Director of the Division of Clinical Innovation at the NIH National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences. Dr. Briggs received her A.B. in biology from Harvard-Radcliffe College and her M.D. from Harvard Medical School. She joined NIH in 1997 as Director of the Division of Kidney, Urologic, and Hematologic Diseases at the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, where she oversaw extramural research activities. In 2006, Dr. Briggs accepted a position as Senior Scientific Officer at the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, and in 2008, she returned to NIH to accept her current position. Her research interests include the renin-angiotensin system, circadian regulation of blood pressure, and policy and ethical issues around clinical research. Dr. Briggs has published more than 175 research articles, book chapters, and other scholarly publications. She is an elected member of the Association of American Physicians and the American Society for Clinical Investigation and a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Dr. Briggs has received many awards including the Department of Health and Human Services 2014 Secretary’s Award for Distinguished Service and the American Society of Nephrology John P. Peters Award for substantial research contributions to the discipline of nephrology. She has also received numerous NIH Director’s Awards for work on key trans-NIH activities such as developing the Trans-NIH Type I Diabetes Strategic Plan, leading the Trans-NIH Zebrafish Committee, launching and leading the NIH Health Care Systems Research Collaboratory, chairing the leadership team on careers of NIH staff clinicians, serving on the Office of Human Subjects Research Protections Team, and implementing the NIH Precision Medicine Initiative Cohort Program.