Cooperation, Collaboration and Teamwork Award

Department of Medicine, University of Alberta

Cooperation, collaboration and teamwork (CCT) are fundamental to the Department optimally achieving its multiple missions relating to education, research, clinical service and administration.

Each Department member's unique contribution to the global operations of the Department is appreciated and, within the context of a group, may determine the success of an effort when the collective contributions, the whole, become greater than the sum of the parts.

Terms of Reference

Nominator: Any member of the Department of Medicine may nominate a team for this annual award. Self-nominations are accepted.

DoM Representation: At least one member with a <u>major</u> role on the team must be from the Department of Medicine, but membership may include health care workers such as physicians, nurses, physiotherapists, pharmacists or dietitians; non-academic staff; staff from other departments or faculties; lay or professional community members; students or other trainees.

Criteria: The Department wishes to recognize teams who best exemplify the following criteria:

- The team has successfully created an environment of Cooperation, Collaboration and Teamwork.
- Each team member's contribution is critical to the success of the effort.
- The collective effort of the team has had an impact on teaching, research, patient care and/or administration.
- The effort represents an operational role model in the academic environment and/or larger community.

Nominations must include:

- 1. A signed Nomination Letter outlining how the team meets the criteria listed above, outlining the impact of the team's contribution and describing how the strength of that contribution lies in the cooperative and collaborative efforts of its members; and
- 2. At least one letter or correspondence from: a recipient of the team's activities; person/group who has benefitted from the team's activities; or, a person/group who is able to assess the impact of the team's cooperative and collaborative efforts.

Nominations must be submitted online **by 5 pm MST on March 15th**. If March 15th falls on a weekend, the submission deadline will be the next business day at 5 pm MST.

Nominations will be adjudicated by the Department of Medicine Executive Committee. If a member of the Executive Committee is nominated for this award, they will not be included in the voting process nor in any discussion regarding the nominees.

The recipient will be recognized at the Department's Annual Celebration Dinner.